WMTA History

History of the WMTA

The Western Michigan Tennis Association (WMTA) has embarked upon another year as a non-profit corporation, having been chartered in 1948. It exists as the governing body for USTA tennis area in southwestern Michigan.

The territory of the WMTA shall consist of the Michigan Counties of Kent, Ingham, Eaton, Clinton, Ottawa, Muskegon, Berrien, Van Buren, Calhoun, Kalamazoo, Mecosta, Newaygo, Oceana or such additional or less territory as may be from time to time assigned by the USTA/Midwest Section.

Politically, the WMTA is one of 13 districts in the USTA/Midwest Section, which governs tennis in the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, and parts of both West Virginia and Kentucky. The USTA/Midwest Section is one of 17 sections within the United States Tennis Asociation (USTA) which is the governing body for tennis in the United States.

Our mission statement is: to promote, develop, grow and service the game of tennis throughout the Western Michigan Tennis Association district.

Currently we have over 50 Organizational members and over 4,000 members from all over Western Michigan. We appreciate our membership and work with them to create the best environment for everyone to enjoy tennis.