Creative Curriculum® for Preschool

The Creative Curriculum for Preschool is an award-winning curriculum for preschool success. Comprising The Foundation, five research-based volumes that provide the knowledge base of the curriculum, and the Daily Resources, which offer step-by-step guidance in the form of Teaching Guides and additional daily teaching tools, The Creative Curriculum for Preschool is fully aligned with the Head Start Child Development and Early Learning Framework and state early learning standards.

Using exploration and discovery as a way of learning, The Creative Curriculum for Preschool enables children to develop confidence, creativity, and lifelong critical thinking skills.

The Creative Curriculum for Preschool

is based on 38 objectives for development and learning, which are fully aligned with the Head Start Child Development and Early Learning Framework as well as early learning standards for every state.

presents knowledge-building volumes and daily practice resources in tandem, giving every educator the “what,” “why” and “how” of early childhood education.

offers daily opportunities to individualize instruction, helping teachers meet the needs of every type of learner.

addresses all the important areas of learning, from social-emotional and math to technology and the arts, and incorporates them throughout every part of every day.

offers daily, built-in opportunities for observation, helping teachers and administrators clearly see the strong relationship between curriculum and assessment.

offers complete support for working with English- and dual-language learners, including detailed guidance that helps to build teachers’ knowledge about best practices.

contains guidance for working with all learners, including advanced learners and children with disabilities.

Read It Again

Read It Again is a program provided to our district through the support of the Grant Wood AEA and is used around the country. Read It Again is a supplemental emerging literacy curriculum that is designed for use in preschools. The four areas of emerging literacy skills that are the focus of Read It Again include: narrative, vocabulary, phonological awareness and print knowledge. Each of these areas has six objectives that are covered throughout the year. During a typical lesson, two of the skills are emphasized either before, during or after reading the storybook. There are two lessons per week so that all four skill areas are covered each week.

Handwriting Without Tears

Handwriting without Tears is our handwriting program that supports the children's development of identifying letters and transfers this to handwriting. This program was developed by Jan Olsen, an occupational therapist. It's based on years of successfully teaching handwriting to children of all ability levels. It's developmentally based, and incorporates visual, auditory, manipulative, tactile, and kinesthetic teaching strategies. It's implemented in the classroom through large group and small group opportunities.

Engage NY

Pre-Kindergarten mathematics is about (1) developing an understanding of whole numbers using concrete materials, including concepts of correspondence, counting, cardinality, and comparison; and (2) describing shapes in their environment. More learning time in Pre-Kindergarten should be devoted to developing the concept of number than to other topics. Students enter Pre-Kindergarten and find a well-planned, sequential math program awaiting, one that is embedded with hands-on, playful, interactive, largely concrete experiences. Students are encouraged to use their math words to communicate their observations. The first step, done in Module 1, is to analyze, sort, classify, and count up to 5 with meaning. In Module 2, students practice their numbers up-to-five fluency as they encounter and engage with circles, rectangles, squares, and triangles in their environment. With numbers to 5 understood, work begins in Module 3 on extending “How Many” questions up to 10. The key here is to build from 5, using their fingers to support this perspective. Thus, numbers 6–10 are 5 together with numbers 1–5, making the numbers to 10 familiar and manageable. In Module 4, students measure length, weight, and capacity, developing their word bank to include the language of comparison: “small, big, short and tall (length), heavy and light (weight), empty and full (capacity), while continuing to practice fluency with numbers to 10. With numbers 1–10 still developing, counting to 20 begins while addition and subtraction are initiated within classroom stories and playful contexts in Module 5.