Winter Solstice Celebrations

On-line home of A Winter Solstice Singing Ritual book and CD

2021 Participating Communities


Saturday, December 18th

11 am Pacific / 2 pm Eastern / 7 pm UT / 8 pm Central Europe


Saturday, December 18th

7 pm Pacific / 10 pm Eastern

  • Presented by Orange Coast Unitarian Universalist Church

  • "Our annual Winter Solstice Singing Ritual will be a hybrid event this year. We will enjoy last year's beautiful video presentation but with an in-person altar and candlelight. All are welcome to this free event."

  • Video will be available for a week following.

  • https://ocuuc.org/events/winter-solstice-singing-ritual-wssr/


Other communities to be announced


bread and roses spiritual nurture invites you to
the 25th Annual

Winter Solstice Celebration

A Celebration of the Darkness and the Light
with Songs and Stories


Saturday, 18th December, 2021
On-line
7-9 pm GMT

To confirm time in your location, click here or here

Please note: the Celebration lasts one hour and fifteen minutes; we are allowing time for technical issues as well as for fellowship after!

A time of quiet reflection in the midst of the hectic festive season
Songs, stories, candle-lighting, silent meditation, singing, and more
All ages welcome

Programme

You will receive a copy of the programme when you register.
If you'd like to view the programme in advance, please click here.

Donation


We are requesting donations to cover our costs and pay our event organiser for their time.

Any funds after expenses we will donate to Stonewall UK and Gendered Intelligence in support of trans lives.


How to tell which ticket to get:


£10:

"If you have access to financial security, own property or have personal savings, you would not traditionally qualify for sliding scale services. If you are able to pay for "wants" and spend little time worried about securing necessities in your life, you have economic privilege and power in our community. This price is for you."


£5:

"The middle cost (when there is one) reflects the practitioner's acknowledgement that paying the full cost would prevent some folks from being able to attend, but who do not honestly find themselves reflected in either descriptions for the highest cost or the lowest. If you are struggling to conquer debt or build savings or move away from paycheck to paycheck living but have access to steady income and are not spending most of your time thinking about meeting basic needs such as food, shelter, medical care, child care, etc., you belong here."


Free:

"The bottom cost represents an honest acknowledgment by the teacher and practitioner that there are folks whose economic circumstances would prevent them from being a part of classes if there was not be a deliberate opportunity made for them to access services at a cost that is reflective of their economic realities. If you struggle to maintain access to needs such as health care, housing, food, child care, and are living paycheck to paycheck or are in significant debt, you belong probably belong here and you deserve a community that honors your price as equal an economic offering as the person who can pay the highest tier."


~ Adapted from "The Sliding Scale: A Tool of Economic Justice" by Alexis J. Cunningfolk, with gratitude

Find out about future song-learning sessions and Celebrations

If you aren't already on our mailing list and would like to receive updates about future Song-Learning Sessions and Celebrations, please fill out the form here: https://bit.ly/WinterSolsticeSignUp.