The Board of Trustees consists of elected parent representatives, co-opted trustees, an elected staff trustee and the principal. From time to time the board may hold an election and/or co-opt other parent representatives (or other suitable people) to fill vacancies.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for governing the school by formulating policies, procedures that help ensure the efficient, effective running of the school.

The Board is responsible for governance matters. The Principal is responsible for the professional leadership, day to day management and operation of the school.

The Board of Trustees meetings are usually held on a Wednesday in week 4 and 8 of each school term at 6.00pm in the school staff room. The date and venue are advertised in the school newsletter. Parents/caregivers are welcome to attend these meetings.

Board of Trustee Members

Ngatokorua Miratana Chair (Personnel portfolio)

Saia Baker Deputy Chair (Finance Portfolio)

Kelly Mata (Whanau liaison Portfolio)

Janine Laumua (Property Portfolio)

Eve Law (Curriculum Portfolio)

(Communications Portfolio)

Tania Chapman Staff Trustee (Curriculum Portfolio)

Grant Henderson Principal

Trustee biographies follow:

Ngatokorua Miratana

Tēnā koutou te whanau o te kura o Titahi Bay North. He uri tēnei no Ngati Raukawa te Au ki te tonga me Arorangi tūpapa ki Rarotonga. Ko Ngatokorua Miratana tōku ingoa. Ngatokorua and whanau live in Titahi Bay and her daughter attends the school in Te Whānau o Te Kākano. Ngatokorua is an active community member from sports to kaupapa Māori activities and development of a family commercial business. She currently works as a Business Manager at Te Puni Kokiri where she sits on a number of governance groups. Ngatokorua says the best part about Titahi Bay North School is associating with the students, staff and parents. The students at Titahi Bay North are so pleasant and well-mannered and are great fun to be around and the staff work hard for students and all go the extra mile. Ngatokorua is of the view parents here show excellent support in the growth and development of the kura.

Kelly Mata

Kia hiwa rā, kia hiwa rā, Tīhei Mauri Ora. Mai i te keokeotanga o toku maunga Ko whakapuanake Te matau ō Maui tikitiki a Taranga. Tirohia ki raro ki oku awa Ko Hangaroa, Ko Ruakituri, Ko Kaitarahae. E noho ki runga oku awa ko toku waka tāpu Ko Takitimu. I raro i tērā waka tāpu toku Rangatira Ko Tamatea Arikinui raua ko tōna Tohunga Ko Ruawharo. Mai i tērā waka tāpu anō ka puta toku iwi Ko Ngati Kahungunu, a, Ko matou hapu Ko Ngai Kohatu. Ara, Ko Kelly Te Moananui toku ingoa. Tīhei Kahungunu! Tena koutou katoa. Kelly has a daughter at the school. She has a passion for her child’s education and wants to be a voice for her and every other student in the kura. Kelly is the chairperson of the parent group for Te Whānau o te Kākano. She’s committed to contributing and ensuring that the school provides a safe environment and quality education for all our students. Kelly believes that “Our future is Learning Together as One” and she brings a commitment to Tikanga and Te Reo Māori to this aim.

Janine Laumua

Janine has lived in Titahi Bay for 32 years and attended Titahi Bay North School herself. She has 2 children attending North School. Janine is an active parent in her children’s lives and also the lives of their friends and parents. She is a team leader at a Wellington City Council facility and has experience in management, budgets, operational costs, funding and building working relationships with the community and schools. Janine respects, values and encourages the involvement and contribution of parents, teachers and community.

Saia Baker

Saia joined the Board in May 2017. He has a new entrant daughter attending the school along with several nephews. Saia works for Oranga Tamariki in the IT management area.

Tania Chapman

Tania has a long association with TBNS. Her adult children all went through the school and she was an active parent in the school during that time. A number of her mokopuna, currently, attend the school. She trained as a teacher at the Wellington College of Education and teaches the senior auraki class at the school. Prior to joining the staff here Tania taught at Brandon Intermediate. She has curriculum responsibilities in English, Social Sciences, Languages, ICT and Technology. In 2016 Tania received a Pūtea Tautoko Mātauranga Māori award to enable her to attend a major national hui. This award was given in recognition of the very good work Tania is doing in the learning with digital technologies area and her commitment to providing great learning opportunities for her ākonga.

Grant Henderson

Grant is our new school principal. He has worked previously for the Ministry of Education, Opotiki Primary School as Deputy Principal and Principal of Ngakuru School. He is currently working on his masters in educational leadership. He is passionate about students playing sports and being involved in a range of cultural activities. He is also a former president of the Rotorua Principals Association.


This is held usually on Wednesday evenings in week 4 and week 8 of each school term. The meeting dates are advertised in the weekly School Newsletter.

Meeting Minutes

Copies of these are available from the school office for anyone who wishes to read them.

Policies and Procedures

School policies, procedures and guidelines are available on the school website.

Board Documents

These are available to interested people. They include the School Curriculum, Achievement Information, Strategic Plan and Annual Plan. These are available on the school website and from the school office on request.