'Where and How to Publish?'

Symposium on Research Ethics and

Scientific Publishing

Wednesday, 27th March, 2019

Jointly Organized by:

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics, BHU

Ayurveda Network (established under PMMMNMTT scheme of MHRD), Faculty of Ayurveda, BHU

& Springer Nature India Private Limited


Prof. Bhushan Patwardhan

(Chief Guest)

Vice Chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi

Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar


Vice Chancellor, BHU

Prof. SC Lakhotia


Distinguished Professor, Faculty of Science, BHU

Dr. Bhavik Sawhney


Springer Nature India Private Limited

Day and Date: Wednesday, 27th March, 2019

About the Symposium:

The past two decades have seen many subtle changes in scholarly publishing. While on one hand, many renowned publishers have ventured into Open Access model of publishing, on the other, this model is being misused by many predatory publishers. It has become really difficult to identify good scholarly journals from the dubious ones.

The major stakeholders of science research and publication include researchers, university leaders, policy makers, and publishers. The proposed symposium aims at bringing representatives from these fields on one platform to discuss on how science might be communicated in the future.

The scholarly publishing process from the initial submission to the final publications has many weak points which are subject to exploitation. The symposium will discuss the various sins of the unethical misconduct in scholarly publishing as described by the Committee Of Publishing Ethics (COPE) and universal norms to avoid the unintentional unethical behaviour.

The various transformations in the scientific communication, the use of Artificial Intelligence, Data sharing, open peer-review process etc. will also be discussed.


PG Scholars, Research Scholars and Assistant Professors from all disciplines of Medical Sciences/ Ayurveda/ Sciences of Banaras Hindu University

Registration Fee: Rs.200/-


Chief Patron:

Prof. Rakesh Bhatnagar,

Honorable Vice Chancellor, BHU


Prof. V.K. Shukla, Rector, BHU


Prof. Anil Tripathi

Director, Institute of Science, BHU


Prof. Mallickarjun Joshi,

Dean, Institute of Science, BHU


Dr. Mousumi Mutsuddi

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics


Prof. Kishor Patwardhan

Ayurveda Network, Faculty of Ayurveda

Organizing Secretary:

Dr. Manoj Kumar

Ayurveda Network, Faculty of Ayurveda


Dr. KHHVSSN Murthy

Ayurveda Network, Faculty of Ayurveda

Members of Organizing Committee:

Prof. Gopeshwar Narayan

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics

Prof. Ashim Mukherjee

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics

Dr. Murlidhar Paliwal

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Ajai Pandey

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Shobha Bhat

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Kiran Singh

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics

Dr. Geeta Rai

Department of Molecular and Human Genetics

Dr. Vishwesh B N

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Vandana Verma

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Vaibhav Jaiswal

Faculty of Ayurveda

Dr. Ringzin Lamo

Faculty of Ayurveda