Maharashtra Government Formation: Thakare to Become CM; NCP-Congress-Shivsena Come to Terms

MirchiPataka :

The development comes three days after President’s rule was imposed in the state after Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari in a report to the Centre stated that the formation of a stable government was impossible in the current situation despite all his efforts. With this recent development, Shiv Sena is adamant that the CM position should stay with Thakare for the 5-year period.

In the assembly elections last month BJP won 105 seats followed by Shiv Sena with 56 seats, NCP with 54 and congress with 48 seats. The alliance of BJP and Sena disrupted over the disagreement over power-sharing. Thakare who is adamant in letting go of the CM post for 5 years formed an alliance with the rest of the parties and divided the available portfolios in a 16-14-12 format.

After a closed-door meeting held by Thakare in Bandra, both NCP and Congress conceded the CM post to Thakare for a period of 5 years. Now in Maharashtra, the next government will be led by Thakare of Shiv Sena and a Common Minimum Program (CMP) is being worked out along with Congress and NCP.

About More Details Please Visit : Mirchi Pataka