Poyraz Research Group

Welcome to Poyraz Research Group!

Our laboratory joined Kennesaw State University in Fall 2017. We are a nanomaterials research group and the main theme of our research projects is to develop functional nanomaterials with controlled physicochemical, structural, and morphological properties.

Our research interests are in the broad area of inorganic materials design, synthesis and characterization. The design of unique materials with tunable porosity (microporous &mesoporous), crystallinity, surface acid-basicity, defect structure, and redox properties for numerous catalytic, adsorption, separation, and energy storage applications is the core of our research projects. We incorporate numerous synthetic strategies such as sol-gel, redox, hydrothermal, reflux, solid-state, nanocasting (hard templating), and surfactant assisted soft templating in our research.

Research Opportunities (Open Positions !!!)

We are seeking for undergraduate and graduate (masters) level researchers to join our laboratory starting Summer and Fall 2019. Check our ongoing research projects. Contact Dr. Poyraz for more detail

Group News

Congratulations Zeljka !!

Zeljka's research is featured at KSU Magazine (see the link below for the article)


The group welcomes Alex Rhodes, Milan Haddad, Max Thompson, and Ji-Hun Jung who joined to the group in Spring 2019

Abott-Lyon & Poyraz Groups Received Mentor Protégé Research Program Funding - 2018

Project Tittle: "Synthesis, Characterization, and Reactivity of Hydroxyapatite Thin Films"

Our Group Received "Creative Activities and Research Experiences for Teams (CARET) Funding Award" - 2018

Project Tittle: "Synthesis and Characterization of Manganese Oxide Cathode Materials for Aqueous Rechargeable Zinc-ion Batteries"

Congratulations Liana !! Liana Gerhardt has been selected as one of the 2018 Birla Carbon Scholars.

Project Tittle: "Synthesis and Characterization of Ordered Mesoporous Carbon Materials with Tunable

Physicochemical Properties as Electrodes in Electrochemical Supercapacitors"

The group welcomes Liana Gerhardt, Zeljka Zec, and Josh Laughlin, who joined to the group in Spring 2018