Section Leadership

Jeremy Bedient

Section Chief

Jeremy is an Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor member, and Founder’s Award recipient from Ajapeu Lodge 2. Prior to being elected section chief, Jeremy served as section secretary, lodge chief, lodge vice chief, and chapter chief. He is currently serving on the National and Northeast Region Communications Teams.

During his time in Scouting, Jeremy has been to all four High Adventure bases, NEXT: A New Century, and also the 2017 National Jamboree.

Jeremy is a Freshman at the New Jersey Institute of Technology where he is studying Industrial Engineering. Outside of Scouting, Jeremy enjoys playing frisbee, participating in Student Government, and volunteering with his local church.

A fun fact about Jeremy is he practiced martial arts for eleven years, and even worked as an instructor throughout high school.

When asked about a goal for the section, he responded: "I want to create opportunities for the Arrowmen of Section NE-5 to come together and share ideas with one another. Every lodge has its strengths and weaknesses, but as a Section we can overcome those weaknesses and play on our strengths to make every lodge better than it already is."

Michael Calliagas

Section Vice Chief

Michael is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Unami Lodge, One.

Evan Lenkeit

Section Secretary

Evan is an Eagle Scout & Vigil Honor member of Ajapeu Lodge 2.

Rob Rodriguez

Section Adviser

Rob is an Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor member, and Founder's Award recipient from Lenapehoking Lodge IX of the Northern New Jersey Council. He currently serves as the section adviser for NE-5, on the Northeast Region Area 5 Committee, and as a member of the OA's Sustainability Task Force. He has previously served as an OA Wilderness Voyage foreman and associate section adviser for Section NE-5A. Rob has served on the staff of various national events and programs of emphasis. As a youth, Rob served as a lodge chief, section chief, and national conference vice chief. In recognition of his many years of service, the Order presented Rob with its National Distinguised Service Award at the 2018 national conference. Professionally, Rob is the superintendent of a state park.

Matthew McGovern

Associate Section Adviser

Matthew is an Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor member, and Founder's Award recipient of Unami Lodge, One and the Cradle of Liberty Council. He currently serves as the associate section adviser for Section NE-5 and as a member of the Northeast Region Area 5 Committee, as well as the Vigil Honor adviser for Unami, One. Matthew also serves on the Cradle of Liberty Council’s camping committee and Family Scouting task force. Nationally, he serves as the lead adviser for the #ChooseOA initiative under the Strategic Performance subcommittee and as a Key Volunteer on the Strategic Performance and Training national subcommittees. Matthew has previously served as the associate section adviser, 2015 conclave adviser, and training adviser for Section NE-5B. He has attended and staffed a number of National Jamborees, NOACs, and other national programs of emphasis, including as deputy lead adviser for the Operation Arrow program committee at the 2017 National Jamboree. As a youth, Matthew served as chairman of various lodge committees, as a lodge officer, a section officer, and an area Venturing president. Professionally, Matthew is an educator.

Dave Srebro

Section Staff Adviser

Our newly named staff adviser is Dave Srebro. Dave is a Vigil Honor member and Founder's Award recipient from Lowwapaneu Lodge 191 of the Northeastern Pennsylvania Council. He currently serves NEPA as their Program, Camping & Activities Director.