April 3 1908, Mulvill park was dedicated by the Hustlers club and the citizens of Odessa and vicinity. Information with the photo stated the reservoir had a capacity of 61,000,000 gallons of water, was fed by several springs, and covered 23 acres. The reservoir was owned by the Chicago & Alton railroad and was constructed by Mulvill Bros., contractors, of Alton, Ill. The location is now Lake Venita.
Highlights of Odessa History, Odessa (Mo.) Enterprise, 1971