Number Theory Web Seminar

This number theory seminar is purely online. Our talks come from various corners of the field and of the world. They are streamed live on Zoom.

Organizers:

  • Michael Bennett (University of British Columbia)

  • Philipp Habegger (University of Basel)

  • Alina Ostafe (UNSW Sydney)


There are no fees, but registration is necessary. To register please follow this link.

Registered users will receive an email a few hours before the talk with a link to the Zoom meeting.

The seminar runs every Thursday. Please note the usual times of the seminar below and in the FAQ Section.

Talks are usually 50 minutes and then time for some questions.

Contact: ntweb.seminar@gmail.com

Please consider the following:

  • Each talk has a unique Zoom meeting-ID that all registered participants receive by email before the talk. You will receive this email from organizers@ntwebseminar.org. Never publicly share this ID or the password.

  • If you did not received an invitation one hour before the talk please check your spam folder. If you cannot find the email there please contact ntweb.seminar@gmail.com.

  • Some mail servers are blocking our domain. Registered participants can click here to get the link to the next talk.

  • To unsubscribe from the mailing list please follow the link at the bottom of the invitation email.

  • Participant's audio is muted by default. You can unmute to ask questions.

  • You can ask questions in the chat window or by unmuting the microphone and asking them directly.

Next talk:



Paul Nelson, The sup norm problem in the level aspect
(Aarhus University)


Thursday, September 29, 2022 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, September 30, 2022 (1am AEST, 4am NZDT)

Abstract: The sup norm problem concerns the size of L^2-normalized eigenfunctions of manifolds. In many situations, one expects to be able to improve upon the general bound following from local considerations. The pioneering result in that direction is due to Iwaniec and Sarnak, who in 1995 established an improvement upon the local bound for Hecke-Maass forms of large eigenvalue on the modular surface. Their method has since been extended and applied by many authors, notably to the "level aspect" variant of the problem, where one varies the underlying manifold rather than the eigenvalue. Recently, Raphael Steiner introduced a new method for attacking the sup norm problem. I will describe joint work with Raphael Steiner and Ilya Khayutin in which we apply that method to improve upon the best known bounds in the level aspect.

Upcoming talks:

Jeffrey C. Lagarias, The Alternative Hypothesis and Point Processes
(University of Michigan)


Thursday, October 6, 2022 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 7, 2022 (2am AEDT, 4am NZST)

Abstract: The Alternative Hypothesis concerns a hypothetical and unlikely picture of how zeros of the Riemann zeta function are spaced. It asks that nearly all normalized zero spacings be near half-integers. This possible zero distribution is incompatible with the GUE distribution of zero spacings. Ruling it out arose as an obstacle to the long-standing problem of proving there are no exceptional zeros of Dirichlet L-functions. The talk describes joint work with Brad Rodgers, that constructs a point process realizing Alternative Hypothesis type statistics, which is consistent with the known results on correlation functions for spacings of zeta zeros. (A similar result was independently obtained by Tao with slightly different methods.) The talk reviews point process models and presents further results on the general problem of to what extent two point processes, a continuous one on the real line, the other a discrete one on a lattice aZ, can mimic each other in the sense of having perfect agreement of all their correlation functions when convolved with bandlimited test functions of a given bandwidth B.


Thomas Gauthier, tba
(Université Paris-Saclay)


Thursday, October 13, 2022 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 14, 2022 (2am AEDT, 4am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Jack Thorne, tba
(University of Cambridge)


Thursday, October 20, 2022 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 21, 2022 (2am AEDT, 4am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Evelina Viada, Rational points on curves in a product of elliptic curves
(University of Göttingen)


Thursday, October 27, 2022 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 28, 2022 (2am AEDT, 4am NZST)

Abstract: The Mordell-Conjecture (Faltings Theorem) states that an algebraic curve of genus at least 2 has only finitely many rational points. The Torsion Anomalous Conjecture (TAC) generalises Faltings Theorem. In some cases the proofs of the TAC are effective, implying effective cases of the Mordell-Conjecture. I would like to explain an effective method to determine the K-rational points on certain families of curves and to present some new specific examples. I will give an overview of the methods used in the context of the TAC presenting some general theorems and applications.


Shai Evra, tba
(Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Thursday, November 3, 2022 (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, November 4, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Emanuel Carneiro, tba
(ICTP)


Thursday, November 10, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm BST, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, November 11, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Trevor Wooley, TBA
(Purdue University)

Thursday, November 17, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, November 18, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Jared Duker Lichtman, TBA
(University of Oxford)

Thursday, November 24, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, November 25, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Robert J. Lemke Oliver, TBA
(Tufts University)

Thursday, December 1, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, December 2, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Laura DeMarco, TBA
(Harvard University)

Thursday, December 8, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, December 9, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


William Duke, TBA
(UCLA)

Thursday, December 15, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, December 16, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Umberto Zannier, TBA
(Scuola Normale Superiore Pisa)

Thursday, December 22, 2022 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, December 23, 2022 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Régis de la Bretèche, TBA
(Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu-Paris Rive Gauche)

Thursday, January 12, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, January 13, 2023 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Cecile Dartyge, TBA
(Institut Élie Cartan, Université de Lorraine)

Thursday, January 19, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, January 20, 2023 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Robert Wilms, TBA
(University of Basel)

Thursday, January 26, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, January 27, 2023 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Terence Tao, TBA
(UCLA)

Thursday, February 23, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, February 24, 2023 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: TBA


Kannan Soundararajan, TBA
(Stanford University)

Thursday, April 6, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, April 7, 2023 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: TBA


Peter Koymans, TBA
(University of Michigan)

Thursday, May 4, 2023 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, May 5, 2023 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: TBA


Sponsors:

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of:

  • University of Basel (financial support, zoom licence)

  • Max Planck Institute for Mathematics (zoom licence, 2020)

  • University of New South Wales (zoom licence)