Serving the local community for the last 100 years

We are a local non-profit community tennis club located at Mason Park in New Lynn.

The New Lynn Tennis Social and Social Club was established in 1919 in New Lynn. It was originally located within the New Lynn township, then moving to Rata St and finally moving to Mason Park in 1955 where we are currently located. Our club rooms have been added to over the years funded through various charitable trusts, donations, and fund raising events.

New Lynn Council borough records show that Mason Park was named after Hon H. G. R. Mason, Member of Parliament for New Lynn from 1926 to 1966 and a Minister of the Labour Cabinet.

These records show that on 14th June 1948, the Commissioner of Crown Land wrote to the New Lynn Borough Council to see if they were prepared to take over some land for a public reserve. £375 was paid for the cost of leveling and drainage. On 24th January 1952, the land was declared as a recreation reserve and the works was completed on 7th October 1953.

The Sports Pavilion where the Club is currently located was erected by the Council in 1955, the New Lynn Jaycees started work on the children's playground on 10th June 1970 and in November, the reserve was handed over to the Council.

On 19th July 1971, the upstairs floor was requested to be upgraded to accommodate indoor bowls and further extensions done in 1973 completing in April 1975. On 1st April 1984, the 4 existing courts were resurfaced with artificial grass and a public court was added. The last resurfacing of the courts was completed in April 1997.

We have just celebrated our 100th anniversary and it was great to see - all past, present and future members at this event. Refer to our Facebook page for photos.

Current Club Committee

The 2019 Club Committee members are listed below. The running of the club is done on a voluntary basis however we are an incorporated organisation.

Updated Profiles coming soon!

Club President

Alex Metzger

Club Secretary

Marian Hector

Club Treasurer

Leanne Metzger

Club Captain & Auckland Tennis Rep

Tony King

Junior Club Convener

Tracy McMurtrie

Vice President & Junior Interclub Coordinator

Marty Shatwell

Mid-week Club Rep

David Mills

Social Club Patron

Brad Clarke

Committee Member

Thembi Nyathi

Committee Member - Advisor

Vijay Reddy

Committee Member

Denise M

Feel free to contact us with interest on memberships, coaching, sponsorship or general help. We are very appreciative for your support looking forward to another century of operations and fun for the community.