Manitoba Teachers for Students with Learning Disabilities (MTSLD)

Facebook - @mtsld2020


X (Twitter): @MTSLD2021

Please visit our website with Manitoba Teacher’s Society 

Purpose of MTSLD 

We are a special area group of educators and professionals who are committed to building awareness and capacity for Manitoba teachers who work with students with Specific Learning Disabilities (Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, Dyscalculia). We will provide opportunities to network, advocate, and build community to celebrate our SLD learners. We will also strive to showcase impactful local projects and initiatives that are utilizing best practices for SLD learners. We will partner with specialists in the field of SLD to provide targeted professional development promoting instruction that is essential for some, but beneficial for all.

We welcome educators and other interested members of our community (in Manitoba and beyond) who are interested in Specific Learning Disabilities.

Membership Registration and Payment

Please note that you do not need to be a MTS member - you may register as a “non-member of MTS”.

Membership includes:

*Manitoba Teachers Society PD Day (annually in October with a full day of Professional Development)

* up to 3 PD events (after school hours or weekends)

* other events/information from our MTSLD team

MTSLD Teacher Scholarship

Annually this scholarship will be presented up to 5 applicants for up to $500 per applicant. 

Priority will be placed on those who are members and those who work with MTSLD to support our goals and initiatives. 

PD opportunities  will be prioritized for the following topics: learning disabilities, dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia. Applicants must be a Manitoba resident and current member. 

Faculty of Education University students and current teachers are eligible. 

Following the PD, please submit a summary (approximately 250 words) to describe the event, what you have learned, and how you will apply this learning to your students with LD.  

2023-24 Executive


Valdine Bjornson


Brandi Meilleur


Kristen McDowell


Valdine Bjornson


Jasmin Coutu,  Lindsay Agnew, Monica Zurrin, Nicole Kavalench 

MTS Liaison

Marsha Leary

Honorary Member

Twila Richards