The First Workshop on Multimodal, Expeditive, Generative and Actionable AI (MEGA AI) 2020


The First Workshop on Multimodal, Expeditive, Generative and Actionable AI (MEGA AI) 2020

Motivation and appropriateness to IEEE BigComp

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is at the core of the 4th industrial revolution. AI has attracted attention in various industries. Academic, social, and industrial demands are rapidly increasing due to the expansion of AI’s scope. In this workshop, MEGA AI, which integrates and analyzes multi-modal data (M) in a variety of work environments and deals with real time (E) generatively (G) and actionably (A), presented as the vision of future AI. We would like to discuss research direction of MEGA AI and share the innovative research results and knowledge about how to solve these issues.

Theme and purpose

This workshop aims to create opportunities to discuss about the state-of-the-art studies of AI, and to share on-going works. We hope that this will enhance collaboration among the researchers related to M.E.G.A. Artificial Intelligence. There are many challenging issues, such as situational awareness, integrated analysis and processing technology for big data, next-generation AI-specific hardware, tightly-coupled SW and HW, self-awareness and inference and behavior generating technology. We want to discuss about how to solve such issues, and share the experiences of applying the core technique to real-world applications.

We invite submissions on research areas that include, but are not limited to, the following:

· (Multimodal) Analysis, recognition and cognition by integrating and converging the situations

· (Expeditive) Fast and light implementation by tightly-coupled SW and HW

· (Generative) Explanation and self-learning to respond to changing situations

· (Actionable) Intelligence to plan and act the behavior based on recognizing and inferencing various situations


All papers must be original and not simultaneously submitted to another journal or conference. Prospective authors are invited to submit their papers, 4 pages, in English according to the IEEE two-column format for conference proceedings. The author list may appear in the paper, but can be omitted if the authors want to. All submissions will be peer-reviewed by the Program Committee of the workshop. All accepted workshop papers will be published in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library as conference proceedings.

The direct link for paper submission is

The paper templates with formatting instructions can be found at:

· IEEE Conference Microsoft Word Template: Conference-template-letter.doc

· IEEE Conference Latex Template:


Submission of Workshop Papers : November 22, 2019 (UTC -12) December 31, 2019

Notification of Paper Acceptance : November 30, 2019 January 10, 2020

Camera Ready Submission : December 6, 2019 January 17, 2020

Author Registration : December 6, 2019 January 17, 2020

Workshop : February 19, 2020

Format and planned activities and a tentative schedule (a half day)

The tentative plan is a half day schedule as follows.

Time Activity

1hr 40min Presentations of ongoing studies (about 5 papers, 15 min talk / 5 min QA)

10 min Coffee break

1hr 40min Presentations of ongoing studies (about 5 papers, 15 min talk / 5 min QA)


Organizing Committee

· Prof. Jee-Hyong Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Jae-Young Choi (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

Tentative Program Committee

· Prof. Hyun Jin Park (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Yun Gyung Cheong (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Jae-Pil Heo (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Joyce Jiyoung Whang (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Bai-Sun Kong (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Kang-Yoon Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Joon-Sung Yang (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Tae-Hee Han (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Rhee-Man Kil (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Jong-Wuk Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Taesup Moon (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Suk-Han Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Moonhyun Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)

· Prof. Hyunseung Choo (Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea)


All questions about submissions should be emailed to chairs Jae-Young Choi (