Entity Sharing in MxWeb Applications

Understanding Shares

When an entity, such as a eWalk checkbox, eWalk template or member group, is shared between two or more users, all the users have some ability to access, and in some cases modify or delete, the entity. It is at first the owner of an entity (i.e. the user who created it) who can share the entity with other users. Some of these users may be allowed by the owner to further share the entity with other users.

Sharing is then different from copying. When a user gets access to a shared entity, it is, and will always be, exactly the same entity as that which was shared. Copying results in an identical replica of the copied entity. A copied entity can be edited or deleted without impacting in the least the original entity. This being so, the copy (target entity) may end up being very different from the copied (source) entity. It may be well the case that, at some point of time, one of them may be deleted, whereas the other one continues to exist. A shared entity, on the other hand, it is always one and the same for both the user who shared it and for the user who was granted access to it. It may be edited or even deleted by one of the users. The other user will all have access to exactly the same (possibly modified) entity, or, in the case of deletion, the entity will no longer exist for either user.

Basic Sharing Functionality Explained

The sharing will be first illustrated for checklists . A prior knowledge of eWalk is not required in order to understand this example.

When checklists are listed by a user, one of the columns indicates whether the user may share the entity with others (an enabled Share icon is shown in this case) or not (in which case a disabled, i.e. greyed-out Share icon is shown):

A Typical List of Checklists

As a rule, you can always share an entity you have created. You may or may not edit an entity that was shared with you by somebody else, as will be explained later.

When entities such as templates or member groups are created or edited, the toolbar includes the Share icon, which you may click to share the entity with other users.

When you click an enabled Share icon beside a listed checklist, the following window pops up (you may need to scroll to view it):

In this example, the checkbox has not been shared yet. In the text input box beside the User icon, type in the user name of the user with whom you want to share the checklist and click the Add button:

Please note the user name has been added below Name.

The significance of the letters R W D S X is explained below. The letters stand for Read (view), Write (edit), Delete, Share and block, respectively.

Whenever below these letters there is an icon other than Cancel, the icon shows that the user with whom the checkbox is shared has the respective permission.

By default, when a share is created, the Read permission is granted automatically, hence the View icon below R.

Click the Cancel icon below W:

The Edit icon shows that the Write permission has been granted, i.e. the user can modify the checklist. You may click the Edit icon to reverse the operation i.e. to deny the Write permission. In general, clicking below one of the letters R W D S X results in toggling back and forth between the respective permission icon and the Cancel icon.


When the icons below D and S are clicked, the Delete and Share icons are displayed, indicating, respectively, that the user in question is allowed to delete the checklist and may share the checklist with other users:

The last permission, X, will be explained in more detail later. Essentially, it blocks, or cancels, the effect of any permission that may have been granted to the user via a different share, for example by granting the permission to all the members of a site (as will be explained later). When clicked, the Block icon is displayed:

Editing and Deleting Existing Shares

To edit existing shares, click the Share icon, as already explained.

You may toggle on and off the small icons under R W D S X that correspond to the share you want to edit. In the above figure, for example, you may toggle off the View, Delete Icon and Share icons that refer to the permissions user demo7 has in relation to the respective share. You may toggle on the Edit and Block icons. You may wonder what happens if all the icons have been toggled off:

When all the permissions are switched off, the share continues to exist as a void one. The user demo7 will have no visibility whatsoever of the shared entity, but internally the share still exists.

To remove a share, click the Delete icon at the left of the share.

A dialog pops up for you to confirm you want the share deleted. Click OK to confirm the deletion. Following your confirmation, the share is removed:

Sharing an Entity with a Site

So far, the document showed how to share an entity with a single user. It is possible to share an entity with multiple users, by using the Share with drop-down:

When an entity such as a checklist is shared with a site, it is effectively shared with all the members of the site. The following image shows the window after selecting Site:

Please note that the User icon has been replaced by the Site icon and a drop-down replaced the text input box. Use the drop-down beside the Site icon to select the site with which you want to share the checkbox:

Click Add:

Sharing an entity with a User Group or with a Member Group is similar.

An important property of shares is the following one: When an entity is shared with a site, it is also shared automatically with all its child sites and, in fact, with all its descendant sites. In practical terms, this means, for example, that the checklist in the above example has been shared not only with the mxweb Demo District staff, but also with all the principals, teachers and admin personnel of each of the mxweb Demo District schools.

Since the checklist share in the above example only has the R (Read) permission, a member of mxweb Demo District or of one of its schools will be allowed to view the listed checklist, but will not be allowed to edit, share or delete it: Bold text

Please note the disabled Delete icon, the View icon and the disabled Share icon.

If the W (Write) permission is granted as well, as shown in the next image,

the users will be allowed to view and/or edit the listed checklist, but not to share or delete it:

Please note the disabled Delete icon, the View icon and the disabled Share icon.

If the D (Delete) permission is added, as shown below,

any member of mxweb Demo District or of one of its schools will be allowed to view, edit and delete the listed checklist, but not to share it:

Please note the Delete icon, the View icon and the disabled Share icon.

If the S (Share) permission is added, as shown below,

the users will be able to view, edit, delete and share the checklist:

Please note the Delete icon, the View icon and the Share icon.

Sharing eWalk Templates

To share eWalk templates, the steps that need to be taken are entirely similar.

The following image shows a typical list of templates:

As was the case with checklist sharing, click an enabled Share icon beside a template to edit its shares:

The letters stand for Read (view), Write (edit), Copy, Delete, Share, Block (X), Must download, Suggested download respectively.

It is possible to share a template with multiple users, by using the Share with drop-down to select a site, a User Group or a Member Group.