Many-Body Cavity QED

December 5-10, 2021

Aspen Center for Physics

Cavity quantum electrodynamics (QED) – the study of individual atoms interacting with high finesse optical cavities – connects quantum optics and AMO physics. Recent developments have included replacing the single atoms by a Bose-Einstein condensate (BEC), using multimode cavities or multiple single-mode cavities for quantum simulation of many-body physics, and on-chip realizations where arrays of microwave cavities are coupled to superconducting artificial atoms (qubits). These advances have gone hand in hand with important applications of cavity QED, including the development of ultrastable lasers and the creation of highly entangled squeezed states, together allowing the use of cavity QED for precision measurements including atomic clocks.

This Aspen Winter Conference will bring together leading theorists and experimentalists to foster collaboration across this rapidly developing field. We will bring together groups advancing Many Body Cavity QED in the following four major arenas: (1) increasing the flexibility and range of the many-body atomic Hamiltonian within the cavity, (2) modifying and/or coupling the cavities themselves, (3) characterizing non-equilibrium driven-dissipative phases of matter, and (4) applying the precision of Many Body Cavity QED to metrology and quantum information. Together these areas of research combine expertise in many-body physics, open quantum systems, quantum optics, metrology, superconducting circuits, and cold atoms.