Bridges MAYO Staff and Board

Bridges MAYO Directors

Esteban Hernández Parra

Bridges MAYO Board Elect

Maggie Olivo

Program Director

Marissa Guarriello

Bridges MAYO Philharmonic Director

Bridges MAYO Board

Our Bridges MAYO Board is made up musicians, artists, and active community members within Bloomington, IN. Our board members contribute in a variety of ways: volunteering their talents, organizing fundraisers, connecting to the greater Bloomington community, administering fiscal decisions, donating funds, and advocating for our community's musical needs.

Esteban Hernández Parra


A little bit about our Bridges MAYO President:

Esteban finds joy in sharing sounds and our interactions around them. He became a musician thanks to his mother’s passion for education, his father's dedication as an instrumentalist, his partner’s love for ethnomusicology, and the generosity of his students, family, cats, teachers, friends, and colleagues. Esteban learns with his students in Indiana, Colombia (where he is from), Kenya, and the Dominican Republic, collaborating with organizations like Bridges MAYO, Tunaweza Kimuziki, Filarmónica Joven de Colombia, Cheerful Heart, IU String Academy, and the Monroe and Bartholomew Counties School Corporations. He studies viola with his father, Ricardo Hernández Mayorga, and professors Aníbal Dos Santos, Stephen Wyrczynski, Stanley Ritchie, Karen Ritscher, and Mark Holloway. Esteban is earning a doctorate in viola performance with a music education minor at the IU Jacobs School of Music and researches about decolonial practices in string ensembles. He serves as principal viola of THSO and assistant principal of CIP, also making part of the IU Mariachi Perla del Medio Oeste and the Efferus String Quartet.

Julia Driscoll

Alissa Guntren

Tyler Readinger

Andrea Kleesattel

Andrew Wood Polk III