Astro-ph seminar / Topics of Astrophysics

Last updated on June 23, 2019

Details

Description: This seminar is intended to all the faculty, postdocs and students of the Astronomy Nucleus (and experts in related sciences) and it is intended to provide discussions about recent discoveries and papers that have been submitted to (or accepted by) astronomical and astrophysical journals. The papers and e-prints are updated every day, and are available at https://arxiv.org/archive/astro-ph (see below also)

Objectives for PhD students: Develop the ability to analyze the most recent publications in the literature of a variety of topics in astrophysics. Obtain a holistic vision of modern astrophysics. Develop the ability to give presentations, lead discussions and prepare answers to questions on different topics in astrophysics.

Procedure: In each session of 30 min, two or three papers are presented/discussed, devoting ~10-15 min for each paper.

When? Throughout first semester 2019, the astro-ph discussion will be on Mondays and Thursdays 11:30am (or at 1:30pm when there is Colloquia/Seminar). Each session lasts about 30 minutes. Seminar website here

Location: Sala de Titulación, Facultad de Ingeniería y Ciencias, UDP.

Faculty in charge: M. Aravena


List of papers discussed

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Monday July 15, 2019


Thursday July 18, 2019


__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thursday July 11, 2019

Monday July 8, 2019

  • Small chat with Donald Kurtz (asterosismology expert, special guest)

Thursday July 4, 2019

Monday July 1, 2019

Thursday June 27, 2019

Monday June 24, 2019

Thursday June 20, 2019

Monday June 17, 2019

  • Anya Samadi
  • Roberto Assef

Thursday June 13, 2019

Monday June 10, 2019

Monday June 03, 2019

Thursday June 06, 2019

Thursday May 30, 2019

Monday May 27, 2019

Thursday May 23, 2019

Monday May 20, 2019

Thursday May 16, 2019

Monday May 13, 2019 -- No Astro-ph discussion

Thursday May 8, 2019

Monday May 5, 2019

Thursday May 2, 2019

Monday April 29, 2019

Thu April 25, 2019

Mon April 22, 2019

Thu April 11, 2019

Mon April 8, 2019

ASPECS: UDP golden special edition (discussion led by J. González-López and M. Aravena)

Thu April 4, 2019

Mon April 1, 2019

Thu March 28, 2019

Mon March 25, 2019

Thu March 21, 2019

Mon March 18, 2019:

  • No astro-ph discussion due to G. Kaufmann and S. White talks at UNAB.

Thu March 14, 2019: