IWAC '18

Workshop on Infrastructure for Workflows and Application Composition

The 1st Workshop on Infrastructure for Workflows and Application Composition


To be held Monday, June 11 in Conjunction with HPDC 2018, Phoenix, Arizona
This workshop will be co-hosted with the Science Cloud workshop. 
Full program: https://sites.google.com/site/sciencecloudhpdc/schedule

Organizations are increasingly leveraging workflows and composite applications to address a large number of computing problems such as scalability, resilience, data management, and efficient resource utilization. Workflow systems today address more of a distributed environment rather than the scale up supercomputing world. Existing technology enabling the full spectrum of application construction environments are largely either missing, primitive, niche, or research prototypes. Container technology offers some solutions, but is not a complete solution for components that do not share a single resilience domain. Cloud computing environments offer support to enable these application deployments, but do not address many composition issues for tight coupling or scale up applications.

This workshop contributes by exploring the various technological infrastructure needs to support effective, convenient workflow systems and application composition structures and approaches across a broad spectrum of HPC environments from clusters to supercomputers to cloud systems.

Program Co-Chairs:

  • Jay Lofstead (Sandia National Labs) <gflofst AT sandia DOT gov>
  • Jai Dayal (Intel) <jai DOT dayal AT intel DOT com>

Program Committee

  • Gagan Agrawal (OSU)
  • Ilkay Altintas (SDSC)
  • Rosa Badia (Barcelona)
  • Wes Bethel (LBL)
  • Christopher Carothers (RPI)
  • Ewa Deelman (USC ISI)
  • Dmitry Duplyakin (Utah)
  • Rosa Filgueira (British Geological Survey)
  • Henry Gabb (Intel)
  • Balazs Gerofi (Riken)
  • Bingsheng He (Singapore)
  • Shadi Ibrahim (INRIA)
  • Kerstin Kleese van Dam (BNL)
  • Brian Kocoloski (WUSTL)
  • Julian Kunkel (DKRZ)
  • Jack Lange (U Pitt)
  • David Montoya (LANL)
  • Kevin Pedretti (SNL)
  • Tom Peterka (ANL)
  • Lizhe Wang (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
  • Matthew Wolf (ORNL)
  • Justin Wozniak (ANL)
  • Andrew Younge (SNL)

Important Dates:

  • Submission Deadline: April 2, 2018 (Anywhere on Earth -- firm)
  • Responses to Authors: May 6, 2018
  • Camera Ready due: May 11, 2018