Works Cited


Byrd, Ayana. “STUDY: After Natural Disasters, Whites Accumulate Wealth While People of Color Lose It.” Colorlines, 10 Jan. 2019, www.colorlines.com/articles/study-after-natural-disasters-whites-accumulate-wealth-while-people-color-lose-it.

“Capitalizing on Justice.” Worth Rises, worthrises.org/capitalizingonjustice.

Couloute, Lucius, and Dan Kopf. “Out of Prison & Out of Work.” Out of Prison & Out of Work | Prison Policy Initiative, www.prisonpolicy.org/reports/outofwork.html.

DeSilver, Drew, et al. “Blacks, Hispanics Face Mortgage Challenges.” Pew Research Center, Pew Research Center, 10 Jan. 2017, www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/01/10/blacks-and-hispanics-face-extra-challenges-in-getting-home-loans/.

DeSilver, Drew, et al. “Blacks, Hispanics Face Mortgage Challenges.” Pew Research Center, Pew Research Center, 10 Jan. 2017, www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2017/01/10/blacks-and-hispanics-face-extra-challenges-in-getting-home-loans/.

Dishman, Lydia, and Lydia Dishman. “The Racial Gap In Entrepreneurship Is Costing The U.S. Economy Billions.” Fast Company, Fast Company, 20 Apr. 2016, www.fastcompany.com/3059093/the-racial-gap-in-entrepreneurship-is-costing-the-us-economy-billions.

Domonoske, Camila. “Denying Housing Over Criminal Record May Be Discrimination, Feds Say.” NPR, NPR, 4 Apr. 2016, www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2016/04/04/472878724/denying-housing-over-criminal-record-may-be-discrimination-feds-say.

“E-16. Unemployment Rates by Age, Sex, Race, and Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity.” U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 5 July 2019, www.bls.gov/web/empsit/cpsee_e16.htm.

“Felony Disenfranchisement: A Primer.” The Sentencing Project, www.sentencingproject.org/publications/felony-disenfranchisement-a-primer/.

Ferro, Shane. “The Great Recession Was Much, Much Worse for African Americans.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 24 June 2015, www.businessinsider.com/great-recession-exacerbated-a-big-racial-disparity-in-the-housing-market-2015-6.

“The Gender Gap: Women as Mortgage Consumers.” NAWRB, 26 May 2018, www.nawrb.com/the-gender-gap-women-as-mortgage-consumers/.

“The Gender Wage Gap: 2018 Earnings Differences by Race and Ethnicity.” Institute for Women's Policy Research, iwpr.org/publications/gender-wage-gap-2018/.

Hackett, Ashley. “Thousands of Privately Owned Companies Are Profiting From the U.S. Prison System.” Pacific Standard, 27 Apr. 2018, psmag.com/social-justice/thousands-of-privately-owned-companies-are-profiting-from-the-us-prison-system.

May, Kate Torgovnick, and Kate Torgovnick May. “How the Bail System in the US Became Such a Mess - and How It Can Be Fixed.” Ideas.ted.com, Ideas.ted.com, 31 Aug. 2018, ideas.ted.com/how-the-bail-system-in-the-us-became-such-a-mess-and-how-it-can-be-fixed/.

Miller, Claire Cain. “The Motherhood Penalty vs. the Fatherhood Bonus.” The New York Times, The New York Times, 6 Sept. 2014, www.nytimes.com/2014/09/07/upshot/a-child-helps-your-career-if-youre-a-man.html.

“Natural Disasters Widen Racial Wealth Gap.” ScienceDaily, ScienceDaily, 20 Aug. 2018, www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/08/180820164234.htm.

Pariona, Amber. “US Prison Population By Race.” WorldAtlas, 13 July 2016, www.worldatlas.com/articles/incarceration-rates-by-race-ethnicity-and-gender-in-the-u-s.html.

Patten, Eileen, and Eileen Patten. “Racial, Gender Wage Gaps Persist in U.S. despite Some Progress.” Pew Research Center, Pew Research Center, 1 July 2016, www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2016/07/01/racial-gender-wage-gaps-persist-in-u-s-despite-some-progress/.

Pratt, Terry, et al. “Mortgage Interest Rates By Race: Who Knew Asians Have It So Good?” Financial Samurai, 4 June 2019, www.financialsamurai.com/mortgage-interest-rates-by-race/.

“Preventing Intimate Partner Violence |Violence Prevention|Injury Center|CDC.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/intimatepartnerviolence/fastfact.html.

“Prison–Industrial Complex.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 3 Apr. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prison–industrial_complex.

Scott-Clayton, Judith, et al. “Black-White Disparity in Student Loan Debt More than Triples after Graduation.” Brookings, Brookings, 29 Mar. 2017, www.brookings.edu/research/black-white-disparity-in-student-loan-debt-more-than-triples-after-graduation/.

Siegel, Rachel. “How to Boost Your Odds of Getting a Raise: Ask for One, and Be a White Man.” The Washington Post, WP Company, 6 June 2018, www.washingtonpost.com/news/business/wp/2018/06/06/how-to-get-a-raise-be-a-white-man/?utm_term=.573020ebd012.

“Trends in U.S. Corrections.” The Sentencing Project, www.sentencingproject.org/publications/trends-in-u-s-corrections/.

“Uninsured Rates for the Nonelderly by Race/Ethnicity.” The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 29 Nov. 2018, www.kff.org/uninsured/state-indicator/rate-by-raceethnicity/.

“Victims of Sexual Violence: Statistics.” RAINN, www.rainn.org/statistics/victims-sexual-violence.

Weller, Christian E., and Jeffrey Thompson. “Wealth Inequality Among Asian Americans Greater Than Among Whites.” Center for American Progress, www.americanprogress.org/issues/race/reports/2016/12/20/295359/wealth-inequality-among-asian-americans-greater-than-among-whites/.

White, Gillian B. “Why Blacks and Hispanics Have Such Expensive Mortgages.” The Atlantic, Atlantic Media Company, 25 Feb. 2016, www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/02/blacks-hispanics-mortgages/471024/.