Indonesia Plastics Show & Geography

Indonesia is an archipelagic country located in Southeast Asia, lying between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. It is located in a strategic location astride or along major sea lanes connecting East Asia, South Asia and Oceania. Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world. Indonesia's various regional cultures have been shaped—although not specifically determined—by centuries of complex interactions with its physical environment.


Government of Indonesia

Indonesia is a republic with a single legislative body that is made up of the House of Representatives. The House is split into an upper body, called the People's Consultative Assembly, and lower bodies called the Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat and the House of Regional Representatives. The executive branch is comprised of the chief of state and the head of government, both of which are filled by the president. Indonesia is divided into 30 provinces, two special regions, and one special capital city.

Economics and Land Use in Indonesia

Indonesia's economy is centered on agriculture and industry. The main agricultural products of Indonesia are rice, cassava, peanuts, cocoa, coffee, palm oil, copra, poultry, beef, pork, and eggs. Indonesia's largest industrial products include petroleum and natural gas, plywood, rubber, textiles, and cement. Tourism is also a growing sector of Indonesia's economy.

Geography and Climate of Indonesia

The topography of Indonesia's islands varies, but it consists mainly of coastal lowlands. Some of Indonesia's larger islands (Sumatra and Java for example) have large interior mountains. Because the 13,677 islands that makeup Indonesia are located on the two continental shelves, many of these mountains are volcanic, and there are several crater lakes on the islands. Java alone has 50 active volcanoes.

Because of its location, natural disasters—especially earthquakes—are common in Indonesia. On December 26, 2004, a 9.1 to 9.3 magnitude earthquake struck in the Indian Ocean, which triggered a large tsunami that devastated many Indonesian islands.

Indonesia's climate is tropical with hot and humid weather in lower elevations. In the highlands of Indonesia's islands, temperatures are more moderate. Indonesia also has a wet season that lasts from December to March.


Indonesia is divided into 34 administrative provinces. These provinces are: Aceh, Bali, Banten, Bengkulu, Gorontalo, Jakarta, Jambi, Jawa Barat (West Java), Jawa Tengah (Central Java), Jawa Timur (East Java), Kalimantan Barat (West Kalimantan), Kalimantan Selatan (South Kalimantan), Kalimantan Tengah (Central Kalimantan), Kalimantan Timur (East Kalimantan), Kalimantan Utara (North Kalimantan), Kepulauan Bangka Belitung (Bangka Belitung Islands), Kepulauan Riau (Riau Islands), Lampung, Maluku, Maluku Utara (North Maluku), Nusa Tenggara Barat (West Nusa Tenggara), Nusa Tenggara Timur (East Nusa Tenggara), Papua, Papua Barat (West Papua), Riau, Sulawesi Barat (West Sulawesi), Sulawesi Selatan (South Sulawesi), Sulawesi Tengah (Central Sulawesi), Sulawesi Tenggara (Southeast Sulawesi), Sulawesi Utara (North Sulawesi), Sumatera Barat (West Sumatra), Sumatera Selatan (South Sumatra), Sumatera Utara (North Sumatra), and Yogyakarta. Out of these 34 provinces, the provinces of Aceh, Jakarta (national capital district), Yogyakarta (special region), Papua and West Papua have special status.

These provinces are subdivided into regencies and cities, which are further subdivided into districts and again into rural or urban villages.

Covering an area of 1,904,569 sq. km, Indonesia comprises over 17,504 islands and is by far the largest and the most varied archipelago on Earth. Located on the north-western coast of the most populous island of Java is Jakarta – the capital and the largest city of Indonesia. It is the administrative center as well as an important industrial, financial, trading, and business hub.

Indonesian Airports

Indonesian Vegetation Database