Two-day International Seminar on

“Innovation, Expansion, Impacts and Challenges in Chemical and Biological Sciences"

8-9th JANUARY, 2020

Organized by

Department of Chemistry, Surendranath College

In association with

Sripat Singh College,

Murshidabad, W.B.

Sponsored by

India Post


Surendranath College is a 136 years old heritage institution, named after its founder Sir Surendranath Banerjea, a noted social reformer and educationist. Keeping with the legacy of its founder, the College is committed to imparting, sustaining and fostering all-round holistic and quality education to the students coming from every stratum of the society. Chemistry Department is one of the oldest departments of this college. It is an important and quite popular Department with substantial number of students. This heritage Department has so far produced a galaxy of famous alumni to be proud of.

The two-day International Seminar entitled Innovation, Expansion, Impacts and Challenges in Chemical and Biological Sciences (ICBS-2020) which is scheduled to be held at Surendranath College Auditorium, Kolkata, West Bengal, India on 8th & 9th January, 2020, organized by the Department of Chemistry, will definitely be a forum to bring researchers, academicians and industry professionals to share exchange knowledge and research contribution in the evolving technologies related to the Chemical and Biological applications.


Surendranath Banerjea Auditorium, Surendranath College,

24/2 M.G. Road, Kolkata - 700 009.

(See the map-location - here)

Important Dates

Last date of abstract submission : 2nd January, 2020

Last date of Online registration : 4th January, 2020

Date of Seminar : 8-9th January, 2020

Programme Schedule

Distinguished Speakers

Dr. Yasushi Nishihara

Professor, Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Science, Department of Chemistry, Okayama University, JAPAN


Dr. Herman Sintim

Professor of Chemistry – Organic Chemistry/Chemical Biology, Purdue University, USA


Dr. RJM (Bert) Klein Gebbink

Professor, Organic Chemistry & Catalysis, Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, Utrecht University, NETHERLANDS


Dr. Ashutosh Ghosh

Professor, Vice-Chancellor, Rani Rashmoni Green University, INDIA

Dr. Subhajit Bandyopadhyay

Professor, Department of Chemical Sciences, IISER Kolkata. INDIA

Dr. Sanjib Ghosh

Professor,Department of Chemistry, Adamas University, INDIA

Dr. Gandhi Kumar Kar

Professor, Head of the Department of Chemistry, Presidency University, INDIA

Dr. Susanta Lahiri

Professor, Head of the Department, Chemical Science Division, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, INDIA

Dr. Chandrakanta Bandyopadhyay

Professor, Head of the Department of Chemistry, Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Centenary College, INDIA

Dr. Alakananda Hajra

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Visva-Bharati, Siksha Bhavana, INDIA

Dr. Krishnendu Acharya

Professor, Head of the Department of Botany, University of Calcutta, INDIA

Dr. Gaurab Gangopadhyay

Professor, Division of Plant Biology, Bose Institute , INDIA

Dr. Shankar Kumar Nath

Oncologist, MBBS, DMRT, Ex Head of R. G. Kar Medical College, INDIA

Dr. Sayan Bhattacharya

Assistant Professor, School of Ecology and Environment Studies, Nalanda University, INDIA

Registration Fees

Registration fees :

          • Student registration - Rs. 250/-
          • Research scholar registration - 500/-
          • Faculty registration - Rs. 1000/-

*** Note that, the payment must be done for the registration process to be considered valid ***

Payment Details:

Account Name - Surendranath College

Account No. 1401002100012620

IFSC Code - PUNB0140100

For online registration, click here

Call for Abstract of Poster Presentation

Last date for abstract submission is Over. We are not accepting any new abstract now.

Organizing committee


      • Dr. Indranil Kar

IQAC Coordinator:

      • Dr. Suchandra Chatterjee


      • Dr. Hari Shankar Biswas

Organizing Secretary:

      • Dr. Apurba Biswas
      • Dr. Harisadhan Ghosh


      • Dr. Lalita Das
      • Dr. Apurba Biswas

Scientific, Technical Committee:

      • Dr. Sourav Mitra
      • Dr. Prasanna Kumar Mondal
      • Dr. Dipasree Roychowdhury

Local Organizing Committee:

      • Dr. Nilansu Das
      • Dr. Adity Sarbajna
      • And all members of Workshop & Seminar sub-committee of Surendranath College

Advisory Committee:

      • Mr. Dipanshu Gangopadhyay
      • Mr. Debasish Banerjee
      • Mr. Sibasish Banerjee
      • Mr. Angikar Banerjee
      • Prof. Kousik Ghosh
      • Dr. Asis Basu
      • Dr Tushar Kanti Saha
      • Dr. Kausik Lahiri
      • Dr. Rathindanath Basu
      • Dr. Indranil Saha
      • Dr. Shamsuzzaman Ahmed
      • Mr. Gautam Banerjee
      • Mr. Tanmoy Mukhopadhyay
      • Mr. Niloy Kundu

Stage Management Committee

      • Dr. Amar Ch. Das Ghosh
      • Dr. Manish Kanti Biswas

Registration Committee

      • Dr. Biva Samadder
      • Dr. Suranjana Sarkar
      • Prof. Chaitali Barman
      • Prof. Anusrita Mandal

Food & Refreshments Committee

      • Dr. Apurba Biswas
      • Dr. Bibhas Chandra Mondal
      • Departmental non-teaching staff

Transport Committee

      • Dr. Harisadhan Ghosh
      • Dr. Nitai Gayen
      • Departmental non-teaching staff

Editorial & designing Committee

      • Dr. Hari Shankar Biswas
      • Dr. Harisadhan Ghosh
      • Dr. Sourav Mitra
      • Dr. Prasanna Kumar Mondal
      • Dr. Nilofer Khatoon

Guest Coordinator committee

      • Dr. Lalita Das
      • Prof. Anusrita Mandal
      • Dr. Nilofer Khatoon

Contact Us

Dr. Hari Shankar Biswas, Ph. No. : (+91) -9874249567

Dr. Apurba Biswas, Ph. No. : (+91) -98741 22757

Email ID : or