High-energy physics at ultra-cold temperatures

European Centre for Theoretical Studies in Nuclear Physics and Related Areas , Trento, Italy

The most fundamental laws of physics are routinely explored by experiments at large facilities which probe the highest energies, smallest distances and shortest times. However, models and underlying theories designed to explain the observations may also emerge as effective descriptions of many-body systems at lower energies, e.g. in condensed-matter physics. The recent advances in the field of atomic, molecular, and optical physics have allowed experimentalists to control these many-body systems to such an extent that it is nowadays possible to shape the emergence of those effective descriptions, targeting a particular model of high-energy physics. In this way, interesting and difficult problems of high-energy physics may soon be explored at ultra-cold temperatures, with the advantage that parameters can be changed by turning the experimental knobs.

In such endeavour, the workshop “High-energy physics at ultra-cold temperatures” * aims to bring experts from different disciplines to discuss recent developments in a multidisciplinary environment.

* Monday, 10 June, 2019 - 08:00 to Friday, 14 June, 2019 - 14:00 (ECT* workshop link)

Registration will open on mid April

support is available for early-career researchers

List of Keynote Speakers

Dr. Monika Aidelsburger (Ludwig-Maximilian Munich, Germany)

Dr. Mari Carmen Bañuls (MPQ Munich, Germany)

Dr. Alessio Celi (Innsbruck IQOQI, Austria)

Prof. Joaquin Drut (North Carolina University)

Dr. Philipp Hauke (Heidelberg University, Germany)

Prof. Juan Ignacio Cirac (MPQMunich,Germany)

Prof. Fred Jendrzejewski (Heidelberg University, Germany).

Dr. Leonardo Mazza (Ecole Normale Superieure Paris, France),

Prof. Yannick Meurice (Iowa University, USA)

Prof. Markus Müller (Swansea University, UK)

Dr. Giandomenico Palumbo (Universite Libre Brussels, Belgium)

Dr. Joao Pinto Barros (Bern University, Switzerland)

Dr. Lukas Rammelmueller , (Darmstadt University, Germany)

Prof. Enrique Rico (Universidad de Pais Vasco, Spain)

Dr. David Schaich (Liverpool University, UK)

Prof. Sandro Stringari (BEC centre Trento, Italy)

Dr. Christof Weitenberg (Hamburg University, Germany)

Dr. Torsten Zache (Heidelberg,Germany),

Dr. Erez Zohar (MPQ Munich, Germany)


Gert Aarts, Swansea University (UK)

Alejandro Bermudez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)

Maciej Lewenstein, Institute of Photonic Sciences, ICFO, (Spain)