10-12 October 2018

University of Bonn

Disagreement within Philosophy

This workshop will explore the impact that ubiquitous disagreement has within different areas of philosophical research. In particular, by bringing together philosophers from different areas — such as epistemology, metaethics, the philosophies of language and logic — we aim at exploring, among other things, the following issues:

  • What is, in general, the theoretical role that disagreement plays in these areas?
  • Should we derive general skeptical conclusions from ubiquitous disagreement in philosophy or are more permissive responses viable?
  • What are plausible explanations of widespread disagreement in many areas of philosophy?
  • Can disagreement be used as a sort of litmus test to explore normative questions in these areas? (E.g. can the degree of robustness and resilience of disagreement in an area be a guide to what kind of norms govern judgements in that area?)
  • In the light of recent discussion on the very notion of disagreement, what can the occurrence of disagreement in a given area teach us about the nature of the subject matter?

This will be the third and last international workshop of the DFG-funded project “Disagreement in Philosophy: Semantic and Epistemic Foundations” hosted by the Universities of Bonn and Cologne.

Confirmed Speakers are

Dominik Balg (University of Cologne)

Elke Brendel (University of Bonn)

Mariangela Zoe Cocchiaro (University of Hong Kong)

Jan Constantin (University of Cologne)

Catarina Dutilh Novaes (VU Amsterdam)

Anna-Maria Eder (University of Cologne)

Filippo Ferrari (University of Bonn)

Bryan Frances (University of Tartu)

Sandy Goldberg (Northwestern University)

Ole Thomassen Hjortland (University of Bergen)

Luca Incurvati (University of Amsterdam)

Nathan Kellen (University of Connecticut)

Jonathan Matheson (University of Northern Florida)

Sebastiano Moruzzi (University of Bologna)

Diogo Santos (University of Lisbon)

Elena Tassoni (University of Bologna)

Marc Andree Weber (University of Freiburg)

Jack Woods (University of Leeds)

Elia Zardini (University of Lisbon)


Dominik Balg, Sven Bernecker, Elke Brendel, Jan Constantin, Filippo Ferrari, Thomas Grundmann