Who We Are

Board of Directors

May 2016 – April 2017

Deborah Wray, Chairperson

Mother and grandmother, current President of RI Public Housing Tenant Association. Experienced organizer around housing. Active on Membership Development, Holiday, "Whose Providence?" committees, excellent recruiting skills. Active in church and other organizations.

Joseph Buchanan, Vice-Chairperson

Community activist over 30 years, board member on the Roger Williams Day Care Center, vice-president of the Black Political Action Committee, active on the Behind the Walls Committee.

Cheryl C. Little-Felder, Secretary

Involved with DARE since 2013. Active in church.

Antonette Wallace, Treasurer

Mother and grandmother, experienced in financial and property management. Homeless rights, domestic violence, and women's health activist.

Wayne Woods, Sergeant-at-Arms

Experienced organizer on DARE's campaigns, and on the Steering Committee of the Prairie Avenue Initiative.

Rozina Otero, Member-at-Large

Muslim youth. Graduated from the DARE Leadership Institute. Student at CCRI, persuing a Mental Health Degree. Member of DARE for 4 years. Active in a mosque.

Rafael Colon, Member-at-Large

Member of the Tenant and Homeowner Association. graduate from DLI. Supports political actions, volunteers at Providence Community Action Program. Active in church.

Roline Burgison, Committee Representative

Mother and grandmother, active on the Tenants and Homeowners Association. Exceptional recruitment skills and active in church.

Marco McWilliams, Committee Representative

Educator of Black Studies at DARE. Writer. Active member on Behind the Walls campaign and Sankofa Drummers.

Sheila Wilhelm, Ex Oficio

DARE co-founder and veteran community activist, former board member with extensive skills in organizing and active on the Behind the Walls Committee.


Meet the Staff:

Fred Ordoñez, Executive Director, fred@daretowin.org

Elia Lopez, Office Manager, elopez@daretowin.org

John Prince, Organizer: Behind the Walls Committee, jprince@daretowin.org

Sophia Wright, Organizer: Behind the Walls Committee, swright@daretowin.org

Christopher Rotondo, Organizer: Tenants and Homeowners Association, crotondo@gmail.com

You can reach us at 401-351-6960 and at DARE@daretowin.org