DARe-17: Fourth International Workshop on Defeasible and Ampliative Reasoning

Co-located with LPNMR 2017

Espoo, Finland, July 3 2017

Latest news


The International Workshop on Defeasible and Ampliative Reasoning (DARe), held in conjunction with LPNMR 2017 in Espoo, Finland, aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners from core areas of artificial intelligence, cognitive sciences, philosophy and related disciplines to discuss the defeasible and ampliative aspects of reasoning in a multi-disciplinary forum.

Description and Scope

There are expressions of human cognition for which the development of logical formalisations is desirable but particularly problematic, since classical reasoning cannot be straightforwardly applied. Some typical examples are reasoning with uncertainty, exceptions, similarity, vagueness, incomplete or contradictory information and many others. They often show two strongly intertwined aspects:

Ampliative aspect: the ability to make inferences that venture beyond the scope of the premises, in a somehow daring but justifiable way. The focus is on those forms of inference that, moving from true premises, allow the derivation of conclusions that are not necessarily true, but that we are somehow rationally justified in expecting to be true. Some examples are default, inductive and abductive reasoning.

Defeasible aspect: the ability to backtrack one’s conclusions or to admit exceptions in reasoning. Some examples are retractive reasoning (e.g., belief contraction and negotiation) and preemptive reasoning (e.g., multiple inheritance networks and in regulatory systems).

The goal of DARe is to present latest research developments on the aforementioned aspects of reasoning, to discuss current directions in the field, and to collect first-hand feedback from the community. Among the foreseen outcomes is the emergence of a framework to relate canonical problems, tools and applications, filling an important gap in the convergence of logical, statistical and probabilistic approaches to defeasibility and ampliativeness in reasoning, as well as to get a better understanding of how to effectively implement these ideas.

Previous Workshops

This is the fourth edition of the DARe workshop. The first one, DARe-14, was held in conjunction with ECAI 2014 in Prague, Czech Republic, followed by the second edition, DARe-15, collocated with IJCAI 2015 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The third edition, DARe-16, was collocated with ECAI 2016. The proceedings of all the workshops are available online in the CEUR series.


  • Richard Booth, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
  • Giovanni Casini, Université du Luxembourg
  • Ivan Varzinczak, CRIL, Université d'Artois, France

Contact: dare.to.contact.us@gmail.com

Program Committee

  • Natasha Alechina, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Grigoris Antoniou, University of Huddersfield, UK
  • Ofer Arieli, Academic College of Tel-Aviv, Israel
  • Guillaume Aucher, University of Rennes 1 - INRIA, France
  • Christoph Beierle, FernUniversitaet Hagen, Germany
  • Mario Benevides, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Antonis Bikakis, University College London, UK
  • Alexander Bochman, Holon Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Arina Britz, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • James Delgrande, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Marcelo Finger, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Nina Gierasimczuk, Danish Technical University, Denmark
  • Patrick Girard, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Sven Ove Hansson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Andreas Herzig, IRIT CNRS, France
  • Aaron Hunter, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Canada
  • Souhila Kaci, Université Montpellier 2, France
  • Gabriele Kern-Isberner, TU Dortmund, Germany
  • Simon Kramer, SK-R&D, Switzerland
  • Michael Maher, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • João Marcos, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
  • Thomas Meyer, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Gilles Richard, Université Paul Sabatier, France
  • Francois Schwarzentruber, ENS Rennes/IRISA, France
  • Sonja Smets, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Umberto Straccia, CNR, Italy
  • Joost Vennekens, K.U. Leuven, Belgium
  • Peter Verdée, Universiteit Gent, Belgium
  • Heinrich Wansing, Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum, Germany
  • Renata Wassermann, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
  • Anna Zamansky, University of Haifa, Israel