dakota rattlers wrestling



The Dakota Rattlers is looked upon as one of the leading wrestling organizations in North Dakota.  We welcome all levels of wrestlers; from the beginner wanting to learn the fundamentals of the sport, to those wishing to be competitive on the state, regional or even national level. We teach the fundamentals of Folkstyle (high school), Freestyle (Olympic) and Greco-Roman wrestling. 

Overall, the success of our club is a direct reflection of the dedicated parents, families and coaches that put so much time and effort into making the Dakota Rattlers one of the premier youth wrestling clubs in the state.

Coaching Staff

Derek Bischof-Head Coach

Coach Bischof is a 3-time North Dakota state high school champion who went on to wrestle for North Dakota State University. He has coached the Rattlers 20 years and is well versed in all three wrestling styles: Folkstyle, Freestyle and Greco-roman. Derek is currently the assistant coach for Minot High.

Justin Racine

Another Minot High wrestling alumni, Justin was an assistant coach for Minot High for 6 years and is the current Minot High wrestling head coach. Justin led his 2017 Minot High Magicians to a 2017 state title and earned Class A Coach of the Year.

Keegan Berry

Keegan was a state finalist out of Casper, Wyoming and wrestled at Minot State University.  He is an assistant coach for the Beavers and this is his 6th season with the Rattlers.

Kelby Armstrong

Kelby is a Minot High Alumni who was a 2018 State Champion and multi-time State placer.  Kelby is currently wrestling for the Beavers at 141#s

Logen Fisher

Logen is another MSU Beaver, wrestling his senior year at 125#.  He comes to Minot from Rapid City, SD and this is his first season with the Rattlers


Boyd Rakness

A Minot High Alumni and state placer, Boyd brings experience and patience to the wrestling room.  He is currently a co-president of the Rattler Board.  

Cody Haugen

Welcome Cody back into the Rattler room.  Cody was a 4-time state placer for Minot High and then wrestled at Minot State.  He coached for the Rattlers for many seasons while attending MSU.  We are excited to see him back.

Evan Forde

Current Minot State University Head Coach, brings his coaching talents to the room.  A standout wrestler from Fargo, wrestled at the collegiate level for MSU-M from 2006-2011 and was Team Captain from 2009-2011.  Prior to coming to MSU, Evan was assistant coach for MSUM

Tim Sandstrom

Hailing from New Town, Tim began wrestling in 8th grade and worked his way to 145# Region Champ and state qualifier his senior year.  Tim brings a quiet, can do attitude to the room as he enters his 2nd year coaching with the Rattlers.

Kerry Lockrem

Kerry completed his wrestling years in Frazee, MN.,  wrestling all 4 years on varsity and was a State Placer in MN. He brings a positive attitude and patience to the room.

Rattler Board

Dakota Rattlers Wrestling Board

   Executive Board:

Derek Bischof

Lance Haugen

Steve Hoffart

Administrative Coordinator

Shannon Racine

Current Acting Board:


Boyd Rakness

Travis Hedberg

Co-Vice Presidents  

  Justin Racine

Jarid Lundeen


 Sarah Seay

Cody Haugen


  Tamera Harvey

 Tim Sandstrom


2021 Dakota Rattlers


like us on facebook: dakota rattlers