The Duke University Energy Initiative offered its first-ever Clean Energy Prize ($10,000) to the 'Perle Converter' team led by Dr. Stefan Goetz (BSEL faculty). Their solution is a technology that can be used with solar panel systems, for battery storage, and in the growing electric vehicle market.

You can read more about this award here.



  • BSEL receives NIH BRAIN Initiative 4-year R01 grant to develop quiet TMS (qTMS).

We got some press coverage for this:

Triangle Business Journal: UNC, Duke nab part of $70 million NIH grants

at the International Conference on Transcranial Brain Stimulation in Goettingen, Germany.




Dr. Peterchev delivers invited lecture on Leveraging the TMS pulse waveform for selective neural recruitment and enhanced neuromodulation at the 3rd North America Meeting on Brain Stimulation and Neuroimaging, and visits Rogue Research headquarters in Montreal to try out latest cTMS prototype.



John Bernabei named Pratt Fellow. Congratulations, John!


Dr. Stefan Goetz receives NARSAD Young Investigator Award. Congratulations, Stefan!


  • Dr. Peterchev will teach ECE 495-01/590-07 & ENRGYEGR 490-04 "Introduction to Electrical Energy Conversion" in Fall 2014.
  • Drs. Peterchev and Marc A. Sommer awarded 5-year NIH R01 grant (R01NS088674) on "Rational Design of TMS for Neuromodulation." Co-investigators are Drs. Warren M. Grill, Michael L. Platt, and Sarah H. Lisanby.


  • Collaborative paper on single neuron recordings in non-human primates during during TMS accepted in Nature Neuroscience: Mueller, J. K., Grigsby, E. M., Prevosto, V., Petraglia, F. W., Rao, H., Deng, Z.-D., Peterchev, A. V., Sommer, M. A., Egner, T., Platt, M. L., and Grill, W. M. Simultaneous transcranial magnetic stimulation and single neuron recording in alert non-human primates. Nature Neurosci 2014; 17(8):1130-1136.
  • Won graduates with PhD degree from Columbia. Congratulations Dr. Lee! Won is moving back to New York for a post-doc position at Mount Sinai Medical Center.
  • Won graduates with PhD degree from Columbia. Congratulations Dr. Lee! Won is moving back to New York for a post-doc position at Mount Sinai Medical Center.


Drs. Angel Peterchev (PI, Psychiatry), Jeff Glass (ECE), and Jie Liu (Chemistry) awarded Duke University Energy Initiative Energy Research Seed Fund grant to build a “Modular Solar AC Battery.” This project is based on the modular, multilevel energy converter concept invented by post-doc Dr. Stefan Goetz. Great job, Stefan!



BSEL presents two posters on novel TMS device design at the 5th International Conference on Non-Invasive Brain Stimulation in Leipzig, Germany. At the conference, Rogue Resolutions did the first public demonstration of cTMS3.




cTMS3 device developed by BSEL and Rogue Resolutions arrives for testing in Prof. John Rothwell's lab at Institute of Neurology, University College London.


Dr. Peterchev speaks at Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Workshop, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.


Drs. Peterchev and David Beratan (Chemistry); Warren Grill (Biomedical Engineering); Wolfgang Liedtke (Neurology); Thomas McIntosh (Cell Biology); Scott Moore (Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences); and Sri Raghavachari (Neurobiology) receive a DIBS Incubator Award to study "Characterization, Mechanisms, and Modeling of Static Magnetic Field Effects on Neuronal Excitability".



Drs. Peterchev and Warren Grill from the Department of Biomedical Engineering awarded a Duke Coulter partnership award for project titled "Enhancing Neuromodulation with Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)." Co-investigators are Dr. Lisanby and Dr. Dr. Bruce Luber from Psychiatry and Behavior Sciences. The project will implement a study in healthy human volunteers to optimize the TMS pulse shape to enhance the neuromodulatory potency of TMS using a cTMS device.

BSEL co-hosts Neuromodulation Mini-Symposium, featuring presentations by Profs. Walter Paulus and John Rothwell:

2:00 pm: "The Motor Cortex: An Ideal Cortical Region for Investigating Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) Induced Plasticity"

Walter Paulus, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Clinical Neurophysiology, Göttingen University

3:00 pm: "Plasticity Induced by Theta Burst Stimulation: Common Effects of BDNF and Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation?"

John Rothwell, PhD, Professor of Human Neurophysiology, Institute of Neurology, University College London

Dr. Walter Paulus from Göttingen University and Dr. John Rothwell from University College London visit BSEL for demo of cTMS device.



Drs. Peterchev and Sarah H. Lisanby awarded 5-year NIH R01 grant (R01MH091083) on "Rational Design of Electric and Magnetic Seizure Therapy."



Dr. Peterchev awarded 2-year NIH R21 grant (R21EB006855) on "Development of a Novel TMS Device with Controllable Pulse Shape (cTMS)."



Drs. Peterchev and Lisanby discuss transcranial brain stimulation technology in psychiatry. Read the article "Psychiatry's Shocking New Tools" in the IEEE Spectrum.