Private School Designated Hitter Rule

The designated hitter and the starting pitcher may be the same person. If the pitcher opts to bat for himself, he is treated as two separate positions – a pitcher and a designated hitter (abbreviated P/DH on the lineup card) – and may substitute for as such (i.e. if he is removed as the pitcher, then he may remain as the designated hitter and vice versa). If a player who starts the game as a P/DH is relieved as the starting pitcher, he may return to the mound under the re-enter rule even if he remains in the game as DH, but may not play any other position after being relieved as the pitcher.