Alabama School Library Association

Yellow hammer ya book awards

The Yellowhammer Book Awards were created to highlight young adult literature titles that have literary merit, instructional application, and teen appeal. The award winners are selected by a committee Alabama school librarians.

2020-21 Committee Members: Kat Baxter, Dawn Dixon, Laura Graves Massey, Ginger Hewitt, Julia Morrobel, Anna Mouton, Heather Overstreet, Jennifer Powell, Jennifer Speigner, Melissa Summerford, & Karen Scott (Chair).

Join this professional organization comprised of school library media specialists, administrators, curriculum specialists, teachers, students, and other educators who are passionate about bettering school libraries. Together, we will grow as school librarians and educators and help improve education in our great state of Alabama.

Who We Are

Alabama School Library Association is a professional organization dedicated to the improvement of instruction through the utilization of media and technology. It provides a forum for school library media specialists, administrators, curriculum specialists, teachers, library media educators, graduate students, professional association leaders, and retired library media professionals to promote excellence in education in Alabama through effective school library media programs.

ASLA is the affiliate of the Association for Educational Communications and Technology, the American Association of School Librarians, and the Alabama Education Association.