2021 Spelling Bee Champion - Avery Grayson Williams

2021 Arkansas State Spelling Bee Champion Named

Little Rock, Ark. — March 13, 2021 — Avery Grayson Williams of Grant County is the winner of the 2021 Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas State Spelling Bee. The Sheridan Middle School student is the son of Nick and Summer Williams.

Williams competed with 47 other students from across Arkansas at the event that was held on Saturday, March 13 at the Arkansas 4-H Center in Little Rock.

Second place was won by the 2020 Winner Thomas Sinclair of Garland County. There was a three-way tie for third place between Charles Akin Johnson of Washington County, Sanjay Vontala of Benton County and Aiden Watson of Columbia County.

Approximately 42,243 students from 294 schools in 57 counties across Arkansas participated in local and county contests that leading up to the State Spelling Bee contest. Williams, the Arkansas winner, will proceed to The Scripps National Spelling Bee, the nation’s largest and longest-running educational program.

The purpose of the Scripps National Spelling Bee is to help students improve their spelling, increase their vocabularies, learn concepts and develop correct English usage that will help them throughout their lives.

To view additional photos from the bee, CLICK HERE.

Arkansas State Spelling Bee Contact Information

Questions specific to the Arkansas State Spelling Bee should be emailed to arspellingbee@gmail.com.

Questions concerning the Scripps National Spelling Bee are accepted at https://secure.spellingbee.com/public/crm/.

Media/Press Contact Information

Media inquiries for the Arkansas State Spelling Bee should be directed to Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or rob.roedel@aecc.com.