APRRN was formed in 2008 at a regional conference on refugee rights, held in Malaysia, in which representatives of 70 civil society organisations from 14 countries determined the need for a coordinating entity to convene collaborative action to advance refugee rights across the Asia Pacific region.

Who we are

APRRN's Steering Committee team, elected in June 2021, represents the quality and breadth of experiences within the network:

  • Over 40 percent of the Steering Committee have personal experience of forced displacement.

  • Over 70 percent of the Steering Committee are women.

  • The 14 members of the Steering Committee reside in eight different countries, spanning the Asia Pacific region.

Steering Committee

Hafsar Tameesuddin


Sitarah Mohammadi

APRRN Deputy Chair

Julio Castor

Southeast Asia Working Group Chair

Hamsa Vijayaraghavan

South Asia WG Chair

Jean Kim

East Asia WG Chair

Elizabeth Young

Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific WG Chair

Gopal Krishna Siwakoti

Durable Solutions WG Chair

Vivienne Chew

Immigration Detention WG Chair

Lynette Nam

Legal Aid and Advocacy WG Chair

Najeeba Wazefadost

Refugee Leadership and Participation WG Chair

David Keegan

Regional Protection WG Chair

Lilianne Fan

Rohingya WG Chair

Apajok Biar

Women, Gender, and Diversity WG Chair

Hayatullah Akbari

Youth WG Chair


Christopher Eades

Secretary General

Patcharin Nawichai

Operations Coordinator

Sunisa Jaiklaew

Finance Manager

Eliza Horton

Fundraising and Development Coordinator

Lars Stenger

Programme Coordinator

Rachel Tan

Programme Officer

Daniel Davies

Programme Officer

Michelle Soe Moe

Programme Associate

Yuvraj Rathore

Rohingya Consultant

Marie Martin

Vulnerable Populations Consultant