Program Director, National Science Foundation (2022-Present)

Founder, Board Member and Conference Program Chair, WiCyS (Women in CyberSecurity) (2013-Present)

Professor, Computer Science, Tennessee Tech (2006-2022)

Founding Director, Cybersecurity Education Research and Outreach Center (2016-2022)


Ph.D. in Computer Science

Mississippi State University

MSc in Computer Science

Mississippi State University

BSc in Applied Physics and Electronics

University of Dhaka

Honors / Awards

  • ABET Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity and Inclusion, 2020.

  • Cybersecurity Person of The Year, 2020, Cybersecurity Ventures.

  • Tennessee Tech Wings Up Research Award 2019-20.

  • CDM 2019 InfoSec Awards for Editor's Choice Women in Cyber Security, 2019.

  • ­Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education Exceptional Leadership in Education Award 2018.

  • Brown-Henderson Outstanding Engineering Faculty Award 2017.

  • New America Foundation Fellow 2016-17.

  • TTU College of Engineering Teacher Scholar Award 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013.

  • INSIGHT into Diversity Inspiring Women in STEM Award 2016.

  • Mississippi State College of Engineering Graduate Research Student Award, 2005.

  • Graduate Certificate in Software Engineering, 2003.

  • Research Assistant of the Year Nominee, 2002.

  • Barrier Fellowship, 2000.

  • Certificate of Appreciation from the Naval Research Office at Stennis Space Center for assistance in Software Engineering Project, 2000.

  • Female Graduate Student Award, 1999.

Professional Membership

  • Women in CyberSecurity (WiCyS)

  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)