Group of Diffusion-Microstructure-Properties

Dr. Aloke Paul, Professor ( Biography)

Dept. of Materials Engineering,

Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India 560012

Email: aloke[at] Ph: (91)-080-2293-3242

We work on different aspects of diffusion-controlled growth of the phases and microstructural evolution in complex multicomponent materials.

Recently, we solved the unsolved by developing new experimental methods in multicomponent diffusion. After nine decades, these remove the stringent mathematical and experimental obstacles associated with the equations established based on the Onsager formalism. These are being used in various multicomponent systems such as Nickel and Cobalt-based superalloys, complex concentrated (High Entropy) alloys and high temperature coatings in jet engines and power sectors. We are also developing the methods of high throughput combinatorial screening for the discovery of new materials with superior physical and mechanical properties.

News and updates

  • Ujjval Bansal (PhD student) won the best presentation award in NMD-ATM, 2019.

  • Avik Mondal (PhD External: Tata Steel) won Young Metallurgist of the year award, 2019, Ministry of Steel, Government of India.

  • Varun Baheti joined IIT, Roorkee as assistant professor in the Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, 2019.

  • Sangeeta Santra joined IIT, Delhi as assistant professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 2019.

  • N. Esakkiraja (PhD student) is invited as one of the very few speakers at the Gordon Research Conference (GRC), USA, 2019.

  • N. Esakkiraja (PhD student) delivered an invited talk on diffusion in concentrated high entropy alloys at the 15th international conference on Diffusion in Solids and Liquids (DSL), Athens, Greece, 2019.

  • N. Esakkiraja won the best oral presentation, Ujjval Bansal and Muni Kumar (PhD students) won the best and runner up prizes for their SEM micrographs at 31st Students symposium, 2018.

  • Varun A. Baheti (PhD student) received the James Clerk Maxwell prize for his publication in Philosophical Magazine, 2017. (Link to the article).

  • Aloke Paul received the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences category, 2017, the highest award conferred by the Government of India. Listed in Asian Scientist 100, 2018 Edition in Materials Science Category.

  • Varun Baheti (PhD student) won the Best Presentation Award at 19th International Conference on Electronic Packaging, Systems and Technology, London (UK), 2017.

  • Sangeeta Santra (PhD student) received the prestigious Royal Newtonian International Fellowship for her postdoctoral position at the Oxford University, UK.