Community Psychiatry Certification

AACP Community Psychiatry Certification

The AACP Community-Public Psychiatry Certification is awarded to individuals who meet the educational, experiential and exam requirements to be certified in community and public psychiatry. It serves to:

Define essential knowledge and skills of the field

Improve the quality of patient care for individuals in community-public settings

Support Public Psychiatry Fellowships and other post residency training programs through external validation process

To apply, contact Frances Bell

Below is the eligibility criteria to take

the AACP Board Certification Exam:

A. Completion of an adult psychiatry residency training program that is accredited by the ACGME.


B. Either (1) OR (2) of the below.

(1) Completion of a psychiatric fellowship program in public, community, or community service psychiatry*

(2) Work in a public or community psychiatry setting for at least five years for an average of at least 50% of Full time (or 20 hours per week) after completing adult psychiatry residency training**.

*Approved fellowship programs are at least 11 months in duration and provide education, supervision, clinical, research or administrative opportunities in public or community psychiatry. For a reference of approved fellowships, please click here or contact Dr. Jules Ranz if you have completed a public psychiatry fellowship described as above and the program is not on the list.

**Public or community settings are those in which the majority of funding is derived from public funds such as Medicaid, medicare, grant funding, government funds or non-profit organizational funding. Work may include clinical, administrative, educational or research activities in public psychiatry. Services primarily funded by private fees or private insurance do NOT qualify as public or community setting.

AACP Certification Exam Learning Domains

The following list of community psychiatry topics are assessed on the exam:

  1. Prevention & Population Health Approaches
  2. Historical Foundations
  3. Effective Leadership Practices
  4. Administration & Financing
  5. Integrated & culturally sensitive care ( eg: Integrated Dual Disorder Treatment, Primary Care Behavioral Health Integration, psychosocial interventions, biologically based interventions)
  6. Program Development in Public Behavioral Health Systems
  7. Engagement Practices & Recovery Oriented Care
  8. Services for Special Populations: (eg: child and adolescent psychiatry, individuals experiencing homelessness, rural psychiatry, individuals with criminal justice involvement, services for LGBTQ individuals)
  9. Trauma Informed Care, Trauma, & Disaster Response
  10. Professional Ethics & Advocacy
  11. Evaluation Methods and System Analysis