INT News Archives

The American Physical Society awarded its 2019 Lars Onsager Prize to Christopher Jarzynski, a former INT post-doctoral fellow and currently a Distinguished University Professor in the University of Maryland’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Department of Physics, and Institute for Physical Science and Technology (IPST). Jarzynski will receive the prize, which recognizes outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics, at the society’s March Meeting 2019 in Boston. Read more...

The US's plan for quantum computing and quantum information science. From the dynamics of non-equilibrium matter in the early universe to the structure of nuclei, QC and QIS may provide is expected to provide a quantum advantage over classical computation in the future.

2018 Nobel Prize in Physics

“For groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics” with one half to Arthur Ashkin “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems” and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”. [Nobel website]

This particle tracker offers the first direct measurement, at the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), of how charm quarks are caught up in the flow of a primordial quark-gluon ``plasma'' -- a liquid-like matter that mimics the conditions of the early universe moments after the Big Bang. [DOE Science Highlight]