UTS Family Guide

Welcome to the UTS Family Guide

Hello and welcome to the UTS Family Guide!

We welcome your feedback on improving this site. Please let us know what you think by contacting:

Marc Brims

marc.brims@utschools.ca

Family/Community Events

Please click on the events listed below for more information about the programme.

Who to contact about what

STAFF CONTACT

Click here to access the full staff listing.

SAFE ARRIVAL/STUDENT ABSENCE

Before 8:45am, please report student absences using the school messenger app, website (go.schoolmessenger.ca) or toll-free line 1-833-210-6224.

After 8:45am, please call the Main Office at: 416-946-4012

CHANGES TO PERSONAL CONTACT INFORMATION/ADDRESSES

Following initial online registration at the beginning of the school year, please send changes to contact information to: uts_guidance@utschools.ca.

Please include your full name, and the name and grade of your child(ren).

MAIN OFFICE

Sean Hayto or Anisha Shivrattan: 416-978-3212

  • Medical (allergies, injuries, etc.)
  • Vaccinations
  • Student photos and graduation photos
  • Textbooks
  • Team sports
  • TTC
  • Field trips
  • Lost and Found
  • Thefts, accidents, incidents
  • Main switchboard to connect to teachers and other staff
  • Messages to students

ATHLETICS AND TEAM TRYOUTS

Jeff Kennedy, Director of Athletics: jeffkennedy@utschools.ca

  • Consent forms and general info
  • Scheduling

CO-CURRICULARS

Garry Kollins, Director of Student Life: gkollins@utschools.ca

ACADEMIC PROGRAMMING

Marc Brims, Interim Head of Academics: marc.brims@utschools.ca / 416- 946-8249:

  • School Calendar
  • Assessment and Evaluation
  • Reporting
    • Parent-teacher interviews
    • Report cards
  • Teacher Support


STUDENT SUPPORT

Nancy Dawe, Interim Head of Student Support: ndawe@utschools.ca /

  • Attendance
    • Lates, Absences, Extended Absences*
  • Student Work Submission
  • Advanced Placement Program


ADMISSIONS AND OPEN HOUSE

admissions@utschools.ca

FEES AND PAYMENTS

Sherly Geronimo, Accounting Officer: sherly.geronimo@utschools.ca / 416 946-7262

Need help with online payments with SchoolCashOnline? Contact the Parent Help Desk at 1(866) 961-1803 or visit schoolcashonline.com/home/support

Learn more about myWallet and eCheck.

UTSPA

Click here for information about the UTS Parents Association

OFFICE OF STUDENT SERVICES

Jen Cypher, Executive Assistant: jennifer.cypher@utschools.ca / 416-946-5258:

  • Individual academic program
  • Educational planning
  • Community Service Record
  • Postsecondary Planning
  • Social/Emotional well-being

GUIDANCE COUNSELLORS

Robert Kennedy, A – L (M4-S6): robert.kennedy@utschools.ca / 416-978-3899

Julia Thompson, M - Z (M4-S6): julia.thompson@utschools.ca / 416-946-7394

Catherine Wachter, F1 - M3: catherine.wachter@utschools.ca / 416-946-0223

REMINDER ABOUT FAMILY TRIPS AND VACATIONS

Please be advised that missing school for family vacations or family trips is not condoned by the school. It is highly recommended that family holidays take place at the same time as the school's regularly scheduled holidays.

If you are planning a family trip or vacation during the school year, please contact the Interim Head of Student Support (Nancy Dawe) before making plans, especially if they would result in an extended absence from school. In extenuating circumstances (e.g. to attend the funeral of a close family member overseas), students may be excused from attending school.

If excused, students should provide documentation (e.g. a signed note) from a parent or guardian to the Main Office before leaving.

Please note that students who are not excused will not have teacher support to make up missed work.