The Team that enables MN GreenStep Schools to exist and improve over time includes funders, program leaders and staff, a steering committee, and an advisory network. In addition, the participation of districts, schools, individuals, and resource organizations make the program what it is - offering models of leadership to their peers and input to the leadership and design team to improve the program. The people and organizations involved as of Phase 2 are listed below.

Leadership Team

Funding: Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Phase 2 of the project is funded by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA)

  • Philipp Muessig, Grant Manager, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Grant Development Team: University of Minnesota

Minnesota Design Center

  • Jonee Kulman Brigham, Senior Research Fellow (Project Lead, Research, & Design)

Institute on the Environment

  • Beth Mercer-Taylor, Sustainability Education Coordinator (Strategic Cross-Sector Liaison)

Steering Committee

The purpose of the Minnesota GreenStep Schools Steering Committee is to help shape the direction of the program at a high level – its governance, outreach strategy, financial model, and more. There are opportunities to engage in more detailed feedback as well, depending on interest. Members represent Minnesota state agencies (Pollution Control, Health, Education and Commerce), school leadership organizations (MASA, MSBA), environmental education entities (YES!) and the University of Minnesota's College of Education, Design Center and the Institute on the Environment (IonE).

MN GreenStep Schools Final Steering Committee List


  • Jonee Kulman Brigham, Minnesota Design Center, University of Minnesota
  • Beth Mercer-Taylor, Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota

STEM Education, University of Minnesota

  • Bhaskar Upadhyay

MN Pollution Control Agency

  • Phil Muessigg (Grant Manager)
  • Karen VanNorman

Environmental Quality Board, State of Minnesota

  • Kristin Mroz

MN Department of Commerce

  • Lindsay Anderson
  • Kari Moeller

MN Department of Education

  • John Olson

MN Department of Public Health

  • Dan Tranter

Minnesota Association of School Administrators

  • Gary Amoroso
  • Mia Urick

Minnesota School Boards Association

  • Kirk Schneidawind
  • Joel Stencel

Youth Eco Solutions (YES!)

  • Shelli-Kae Foster

Minnesota Association of Environmental Education

  • Jenna Totz

Advisory Network

The Advisory Network represent a variety of sectors, roles, and specializations who contribute their experience and expertise to help inform the program.

Multi-sector Advisory Network Members (current listing to come)