Co-operative Education

Assistant Curriculum Leader:

Western’s Co-operative Education is a unique Ministry of Education-approved program for students that integrates academic study with practical experience in business and industry. To be eligible for the program students should be 16 years of age and have accumulated 16 credits. A thorough intake interview is an entrance requirement for acceptance to the Co-op program. Our goal is to fit the best student to the best work experience and facilitate success.

Western’s Co-op learning experience helps students make informed decisions about future careers. Students have opportunities to develop work habits, attitudes and employability skills necessary for a successful transition from secondary school to the workplace, apprenticeship, college and university pathways.

At Western, students can count two Co-op credits as compulsory credits towards their Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD). The number of optional credits they may earn through Co-op courses is not restricted. Additional credits may also be earned through specialized programs.

Unique Courses/Specialized Programs:

  • Dual Credit Programs are designed to assist secondary students in the completion of their OSSD and successful transition to college and apprenticeship programs. Students have an opportunity to earn college credits and a high school credits simultaneously, fully-funded by the Ministry of Education

  • Co-op students enrolled in Specialist High Skills Major (SHSM) programs participate in a college-delivered course as part of their SHSM experience.

  • Co-op students enrolled in Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Programs (OYAP) have opportunities to participate at a variety of levels including Dual Credits and Level 1 apprenticeship courses (OYAP). This program allows them to start working on post-secondary apprenticeship qualifications while completing their high school credits.

  • Additional Cooperative Education opportunities include Centralized Programs offered through the Toronto District School Board. These include but are not limited to: BMO Business Co-op, Dance and Drama Co-op, Health Sciences Co-op, Military Co-op, Police Co-op, TTC Co-op programs and PACE (TDSB Facility/Maintenance and Construction) placements.