Teaching Everyone Takes Everyone

Important Renewal Information

Beginning in June 2019, all certified personnel must meet the requirement for the new Digital Learning Competencies to renew their license for teaching. All certified personnel will need to earn 2.0 CEUs in Digital Learning.

Please note: 2.0 CEUs is equal to 20 face-to-face instructional hours. Contact your Digital Learning Specialist to learn about the various options available to receive DL credit.

Meet the TCS Digital Learning Team

Welcome to the Transylvania County Schools' Digital Learning website. Our team strives to provide high quality professional development to all our county educators so that they in return will prepare our students to be globally competitive learners with essential 21st Century skills.

We encourage you to visit the links to learn about our department, resources and professional development opportunities. Each Digital Learning Specialist serves one or more schools and assist in the implementation of our annual Digital Learning Initiatives.


  • Our Digital Learning Specialists work together with Technical Support personnel to provide support to district educators for effective and successful integration of technology into the curriculum.
  • Our goals are aligned with the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE Standards) and the NC DPI Digital Learning Competencies as we promote understanding and use of available technology in each school and provide opportunities for educators to improve technology integration and professional skills.
  • Our Digital Learning Team work collaboratively to create high quality and research-based professional development throughout our schools. Let us know how we can help you with staff development needs or tech integration ideas. Contact information for each of our DL Specialists is listed below.

“If we teach today’s students as we taught yesterday’s, we rob them of tomorrow.”

-Dewey

Meet our Team

Technology

Chris Whitlock, Chief Technology Officer, cwhitlock@tcsnc.org

Transylvania County Schools

Digital Learning Specialists

Back Row

Chris Whitlock, TCS Chief Technology Officer, cwhitlock@tcsnc.org

Front Row From left to right

Bridgette Whitlock - Digital Learning Specialist - bwhitlock@tcsnc.org

Brevard Middle School

Erik Wahus - Digital Learning Specialist - ewahus@tcsnc.org

Rosman Middle/High School & Davidson River School

Cathy Zandecki - TCS Digital Learning Coordinator - cathyz@tcsnc.org

Pisgah Forest Elementary School

Vera Cubero - TCS Digital Learning Specialist - vcubero@tcsnc.org

Brevard High School

Rae Parker - Digital Learning Specialist - rparker@tcsnc.org

Rosman Elementary & TC Henderson School of Science & Technology,

Alyse Hollingsworth - Digital Learning Specialist, Brevard Elementary School, ahollingsworth@tcsnc.org

For additional information, contact:

Cathy Zandecki, M. Ed Instructional Technology

Digital Learning Coordinator

Transylvania County Schools

cathyz@tcsnc.org

828-553-3201