Brevard High School Band

To contact BHS Band

please email

Jim Leatherwood, Director of Bands

jleatherwood@tcsnc.org.

Band Calendar of Events and Performances

May 2, 3, and 4 Color Guard Auditions

May 4-6 All-State Clinic 2018 UNC Chapel Hill

May 10 SOLO and ENSEMBLE MPA (SEMPA) 2018 at Cane Creek MS

May 18 Spring AWARDS Picnic BMC Cafeteria (For all parents and students)

May 24 Spring Concert 7pm BHS Auditorium

May 26th Memorial Day Parade and Squirrel Box Derby

June 8 Graduation Concert 5pm

July 29 NightBEAT Tour of Champions Winston-Salem, NC ($42)

July 31, Aug 1, 2 Rookie Camp (All New Marching Band Members and All Leadership)

Aug 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, & 10 Full Band Camp

Aug. 9th BAND PARENT MEETING 6PM $150 Band Fees Due


Aug. 13 Evening Rehearsal 5:30-8pm

Aug. 14 Evening Rehearsal 5:30-8pm

Aug. 16 Evening Rehearsal 5:30-8pm

Aug. 17 @ Mtn. Heritage

Aug. 20 Evening Rehearsal 5:30-8pm

Aug. 21 Evening Rehearsal 5:30-8pm

Aug. 22 First Day of School

Aug. 23 Thursday First After School Rehearsal (EVERY Mon, Tues, and Thursday 3:30-6PM) These are REQUIRED

Aug. 24 @ Rosman

Aug. 31 @ Draughn

Sept. 7 Madison

Sept. 14 @ Owen

Sept. 21 Chase (Homecoming)

Sept. 28 OPEN

Sept. 29 Enka Land of the Sky Band Competition

Oct. 5 @ East Henderson

Oct. 6 AC Reynolds Cedar Cliffs Classic Band Contest

Oct. 12 Franklin

October 13 Chase Trojan Classic Band Competition

Oct. 19 @ Smoky Mountain (Not Travelling)

Oct. 20 Saturday WCU Tournament of Champions

Oct. 26 Hendersonville

Nov. 2 Pisgah

Play Off Games TBA

Christmas Parades TBA


Please read the COURSE EXPECTATIONS & SYLLABUS page for band policy.

LEADERSHIP TEAM

Please contact section leaders with questions.


Drum Majors

Luke Milligan 19lmilligan@s.tcsnc.org

Asher de la Torre 19pdltorre@s.tcsnc.org


Junior Drum Major

John Nguyen 19jnguyen@s.tcsnc.org


Section Leaders

Flute- Jolene Osteen joleneosteen@icloud.com

Clarinet- Becca Dobbins 18rdobbins@s.tcsnc.org

Saxophone- Madison Allen 18mallen@s.tcsnc.org

Mellophone- Jordan Wells 20jwells@s.tcsnc.org

Trumpet- Garret Heinemann 18gheinemann@s.tcsnc.org

and Brian Hatter 19bhatter@s.tcsnc.org

Low Reeds- Aaron Flynn 18mflynn@s.tcsnc.org

Trombone- Miranda Smith 20msmith@s.tcsnc.org

Baritone- John Nguyen 19jnguyen@s.tcsnc.org

Low Brass- Sky Strickland 19cstrickland@s.tcsnc.org

Drumline- Crista Cali 18ccali@s.tcsnc.org

Pit- Sara Megown 19smegown@s.tcsnc.org


HOW TO JOIN OUR TEAM OF VOLUNTEERS

We need a lot of help providing the best experience we can for our amazing band students. Please go to the following link and fill out the information so that you may volunteer with the band this year. It's going to be and amazing year. We want you to be part of the fun! Click HERE to volunteer.


HOW TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN BAND

For BHS Band Functions: https://www.tcsnc.org/Domain/928

For All-District Band, District MPA and Solo and Ensemble:

WNC Bandmasters Association Web Page: http://wncbandmasters.org

For All-State Honors Band and All-Region/All-State Jazz:

http://www.ncbandmasters.org/home.php

DIRECTORS & STAFF

Mr. Jim Leatherwood, Director of Bands

Blue Devil Marching Band

Wind Ensemble

Concert Band

Jazz Ensemble


Mr. Brian Wilson, Marching Band Assistant Director

BHS Drumline Director


Mr. Josh Dunn, Percussion Instructor


Lauren Almany, Color Guard Instructor


Hanna Kimmel, Color Guard Choreographer


Deric Milligan, Instructor


Brevard Band Association Board of Directors

President Tricia Poche tpoche@gmail.com

Vice President Melissa Wells melissawells@citcom.net

Secretary Nancy Shuman nfshuman13@gmail.com

Treasurer Kathleen de la Torre kdelatorre@bgctransylvania.org