Digital Competence

The Framework encapsulates the skills that will help learners thrive in an increasingly digital world.

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

  1. Citizenship – which includes:
    • Identity, image and reputation
    • Health and well-being
    • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
    • Online behaviour and cyberbullying.

2. Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Storing and sharing.

3. Producing – which includes:

    • Planning, sourcing and searching
    • Creating
    • Evaluating and improving.

4. Data and computational thinking – which includes:

    • Problem solving and modelling
    • Data and information literacy.