Colorado Traffic Incident Management (TIM)

Your website for Colorado TIM resources and information! 

Announcements & Information

Colorado TIM Training Opportunity

TIM Training is the base for a successful TIM program. The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) Office of Emergency Management (OEM) within the Division of Maintenance and Operations in partnership with the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) are excited to announce a travelling training team to bring two days of the Traffic Incident Management (TIM) program to your area in support of responder and public safety, reduce roadway impacts and increase partnerships of "One Scene, One Culture". The training event will consist of

8-hour TIM Train-the-Trainer (T-t-T) Session is intended to provide participants (i.e., trainers) the knowledge and materials necessary for them to conduct TIM training for responders in their area or state. The T-t-T is a 1-day course that covers 8 hours of material, including classroom training and hands-on activities.  

4-hour TIM Responder Training is a course developed by responders for responders, and was designed to promote consistent training of all responders to achieve the three objectives of the TIM National Unified Goal (NUG):


Quick Clearance field training (push bumper and rollover training) is a 4-hour session that provides hands-on training opportunity where skills related to quick clearance activities described within the National Traffic Incident Management Program will be discussed and practiced intended to provide increased confidence for responders to utilize quick techniques. Training will include:


This training will also provide current TIM instructors that are proficient the opportunity to assist with the T-t-T for evaluation to achieve their Master Instructor certification. 


All training is provided at NO COST to participants.  This training is intended to be a multi-agency and discipline event to include all partners working on the roadway system, rural, urban and Interstate.


If you have any questions please contact Pete Igel (peter.igel@state.co.us) or Brandon Hipp (brandon.hipp@state.co.us).

Statewide TIM Program Goals

The goal of the Colorado's Traffic Incident Management Program is to reduce exposure to live traffic for all responders by removing incidents from the roadway and restoring normal traffic operations as safely and quickly as possible. The TIM program works to:

Enhance

safe and quick clearance of traffic incidents

Improve

responder safety

Support

prompt reliable and interoperable communications

Support

economic vitality by reducing delays

Reduce

secondary crashes

Colorado TIM Highlight

Operating Near the Zero Buffer Video

The Responder Safety Learning Network has developed a video about the dangers and recommendations for working near active traffic during incident response. This video highlights a more recent term that has been used called the Zero Buffer Zone which is the area between the corner of the blocking vehicle and the lane of active traffic. 

This was also highlighted during the February 2022 Colorado Talking TIM webinar about vehicle parking and working around the area of the Zero Buffer Zone during incident response. 

To access this video, visit the Operating Near the Zero Buffer training webpage

Screen Shot from Video showing Zero Buffer Zone Diagram

TIM Program Components

Education

Learn what you should do as a driver or passenger if you’re ever involved in a traffic incident on Colorado’s highways. Plus, find statistics on how traffic incidents impact motorists and responders. 


Read More About Education 

Safety Patrol

The Front Range Metro CDOT Safety Patrol sponsored by Geico and I-70 Mountain Corridor CDOT Safety Patrol provide limited roadside assistance at no charge to drivers needing fuel, flat-tire changes, assistance moving vehicles to the shoulder and much, much more.         

Read More About Safety Patrol 

Library

Browse TIM resources from FHWA guidelines to templates for your Standing Program Management team. This content is available for all visitors. 


Visit the TIM Library 

Training

The TIM program removes incidents from Colorado’s highways and restores normal travel operations as safely and quickly as possible. Use this link to see our available training resources. 


Read More About TIM Training 

Colorado TIM Teams

Locations & Contact Information

TIM Team Purpose: A TIM Team is a forum of collaborative members from public and private agencies to facilitate continuous dialogue about TIM best practices. They do this through collaboratively collecting data, creating and hosting mutually beneficial trainings, funding TIM programs and sharing resources. These well-rounded, multi-disciplinary teams bring together their diverse experience to advance and implement TIM practices within specific areas of responsibility across the state.

Get information about a TIM Team near you by region below.

Northwest TIM Region

Region includes: Clear Creek, Eagle, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Jackson, Lake, Mesa, Moffat, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, and Summit Counties.

Mesa County TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-70 (MP 0-65), US 50 (MP 0-52)

CSP: Captain Matt Ozanic / 970-858-2250 / matt.ozanic@state.co.us

CDOT: Fred Cummings / 970-683-7583 / fred.cummings@state.co.us


Hwy 40 West TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility with mile posts: Moffat and  Rio Blanco Counties; US 40A (MP 0-96); CO 127A (MP 0-9); CO 13A (MP 16.9-88.635); CO 13B (MP 89.608-127.999); CO 394 (MP 0-9.378); CO 317A (MP 0-12); CO 318A (MP 0-60.697); CO 64A (MP 0-73.7); CO 139A (MP 39.302-72.065)

CSP: Captain Ryan Parker / 970-826-1301 / ryan.parker@state.co.us

CSP: Trooper Eric DiBenedetto / 970-824-0351 / eric.dibenedetto@state.co.us

CDOT: Spencer Dickey / 970-379-2352 / spencer.dickey@state.co.us

CDOT: Billy McDermott / 970-629-0915 / william.mcdermott@state.co.us


Hwy 40 East TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility with mile posts: Grand, Jackson, and Routt Counties; US 40A (MP 96-242.972); CO 9D (MP 127.48-138.92); CO 34A (MP 0-15); CO 125A (MP 0-75.406); CO 14A (MP 0-32.968); CO 14B (MP 34.09-61.01); CO 131B (MP 21.55-68.721); CO 134A (MP 0-27).

CSP: Captain Ryan Parker / 970-826-1301 / ryan.parker@state.co.us

CSP: Trooper Eric DiBenedetto / 970-824-0351 / eric.dibenedetto@state.co.us

CDOT: Spencer Dickey / 970-379-2352 / spencer.dickey@state.co.us

CDOT: Billy McDermott / 970-629-0915 / william.mcdermott@state.co.us


Garfield County TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-70 (MP 65-33)

CSP: Captain Jared Rapp / 970-824-6501 / jared.rapp@state.co.us

CSP: Corporal Dillon Guinn / 970-824-6501 / dillon.guinn@state.co.us

CDOT: TJ Blake / 970-68308308 / todd.blake@state.co.us


Eagle County TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-70 (MP 139-190), US 6 (MP 130-174), US 24 (MP 143-165), CO 131 (to Eagle/Routt County line)

CSP: Trooper Jacob Best / 970-688-1080 / jacob.best@state.co.us

CDOT: Chuck Decker / 719-248-8308 / chuck.decker@state.co.us


Summit County/Clear Creek County TIM Team 

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-70 (MP 190-246), US 6, CO 9

CSP: Captain Jared Rapp / 970-903-2523 / jared.rapp@state.co.us

CSP: Captain Larry Oletski / 303-273-1616 / lawrence.oletski@state.co.us

CDOT: Mike Willyard / 303-349-4549 / mike.willyard@state.co.us

CDOT: Kane Schneider / 970-683-6308 / kane.schneider@state.co.us

Northeast TIM Region

Region includes: Adams, Elbert, Kit Carson, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, and Yuma Counties

North I-25 TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25 from CO 7 to

 WY state line (MP 229-299)

CSP: Captain Bart Trippel (Troop 3C-Fort Collins) / 970-224-3027 / bart.trippel@state.co.us

CSP: Captain Phil Gurley (Troop 3A-Greeley) / 970-506-4999  / philip.gurley@state.co.us

CDOT: Jonathan Woodworth (Region 4-Greeley) / 970-350-2166 / jonathan.woodworth@state.co.us


Hwy-85 TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: US 85 (MP 236-309)

CSP: Captain Phil Gurley (Troop 3A-Greeley) / 970-506-4999  / philip.gurley@state.co.us

CDOT: Jonathan Woodworth (Region 4-Greeley) / 970-350-2166 / jonathan.woodworth@state.co.us


I-76 West TIM Team 

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-76 (MP 60-102)

CSP: Captain Michael Balenti (Troop 3B-Sterling) / 970-522-4696 / michael.balenti@state.co.us

CSP: Captain Phil Gurley (Troop 3A-Greeley) / 970-506-4999  / philip.gurley@state.co.us

CDOT: Jonathan Woodworth (Region 4-Greeley) / 970-350-2166 / jonathan.woodworth@state.co.us


I-76 East TIM Team 

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I 76 (MP 102-184)

CSP: Captain Michael Balenti (Troop 3B-Sterling) / 970-522-4696 / michael.balenti@state.co.us

CDOT: Jonathan Woodworth (Region 4-Greeley) / 970-350-2166 / jonathan.woodworth@state.co.us


I-70 East TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I 70 (MP 285-KS state line)

CSP: Captain Clint Rushing (Troop 3D-Limon) / 719-775-2964 / clinton.rushing@state.co.us

CDOT: Jonathan Woodworth / 970-350-2166 / jonathan.woodworth@state.co.us


US-40 / US-287 TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: Kiowa, Cheyenne, Lincoln, Kit Carson (US 40; US-287; US 385; CO 96)

CSP: Captain Clint Rushing (Troop 3D-Limon) / 719-775-2964 / clinton.rushing@state.co.us

CSP: Captain Tonya Billinger (Troop 2C-Lamar) / 719-336-7403 / tonya.billinger@state.co.us

CDOT: David Wall (CDOT Region 4-Greeley) / 303-229-8856 / david.wall@state.co.us

CDOT: Roy Darnell (CDOT Region 2-Pueblo) / 719-688-2493 / roy.darnell@state.co.us

Denver Metro TIM Region

Region includes: Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, Gilpin, & Jefferson Counties

Denver West Metro TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: C-470 to Wadsworth Blvd, and north Jefferson County line to Roxborough. Roadways included: I-70, C470, CO 121, US 6, US 285, CO 8, CO 58, CO 72, CO 74, CO 93, CO 121, and associated roadways. Cities of Arvada, Bow Mar, Edgewater, Golden, Lakeside, Lakewood, Morrison, Mountain View, Westminster, and Wheat Ridge.

CSP: Captain Larry Oletski (Troop 1A/1E) / 303-273-1616 / lawrence.oletski@state.co.us

CDOT: Mark Kyrimis / 720-376-1203 / mark.kyrimis@state.co.us


Denver Southeast Metro TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25, C-470, E-470, US 285 and associated roadways. Cities of Aurora, Castle Rock, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Englewood, Elizabeth, Franktown, Greenwood Village, Highlands Ranch, Larkspur, Littleton, Lone Tree, and Parker.

CSP: Captain Michael Carr (Troop 1B/1C) / 303-688-3115 / michael.carr@state.co.us

CDOT: Mark Kyrimis / 720-376-1203 / mark.kyrimis@state.co.us


City/County Denver TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-70, I-25, I-270, E-470, US 6, US 85, CO 2, CO 88, CO 95 and associated roadways within the City and County of Denver. 

Denver PD: Sergeant Richard Coisman (Traffic Section) / 720-641-1947 / richard.coisman@denvergov.org

CDOT: Mark Kyrimis / 720-376-1203 / mark.kyrimis@state.co.us


Denver North Metro TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25 from I-70 to CO 7, US 36 from I-25 to Northwest Parkway/Interlocken.  Roadways included in this area: I-25, I-76, I-270, E470, US 36, US 85, US 287, CO 2, CO 7, CO 44, CO 95, CO 128, and other associated roads. Cities of Brighton, Broomfield, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Northglenn, Thornton, and Westminster.

CSP: Captain Joe Dirnberger (Troop 1D) / 303-289-4760 / joseph.dirnberger@state.co.us

CDOT: Mark Kyrimis / 720-376-1203 / mark.kyrimis@state.co.us

Southwest TIM Region

Region includes: Alamosa, Archuleta, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Delta, Dolores, Gunnison, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Rio Grande, Saguache, San Juan, and San Miguel Counties.

La Plata County TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: CO 550 (MP 0-50); CO 160 (MP 62-108); CO 172 (MP 0-24.5); CO 151 (MP 0-9); CO 140 (MP 0-23)

CSP: Captain John Trentini / 970-385-1675 / john.trentini@state.co.us

CDOT: John Palmer / 970-385-1661 / john.palmer@state.co.us

CDOT: Jennifer Allison / 970-880-0549 / jennifer.allison@state.co.us

 

Alamosa TIM Team

Primary Area/Highways of Responsibility: CO 160 (MP 144.5-283.3), CO 285 (MP 0-148), CO 50 (MP 165.5-243.3), US 24 (MP 193-226), CO 291 (MP 0-8.9), CO 150 (MP 0-15.5), CO 159 (MP 0-33.7), CO 370 (MP 0-14), CO 371 (MP 0-6), CO 149 (MP 0-45.5), CO 114 (MP 19-61.7), CO 15 (MP 0-12.4), CO 15 (MP 20.4-30.9)

CSP: Captain Brett Williams / 719-589-2503 / brett.williams@state.co.us

CDOT: Marc Quintana / 970-524-0626 / marc.quintana@state.co.us

CDOT: Jennifer Allison / 970-880-0549 / jennifer.allison@state.co.us

 

Montrose County TIM Team

Primary Area/Highways of Responsibility: US 50 (MP 53-199.5), CO 114 (milepost 0-31.2), CO 149 (MP 55.9-117.5 (end)), CO 135 (MP 0-27.4 (end)), CO 133 (MP 0-42.8), CO 92 (milepost 0-73.5 (end)), CO 347 (MP 0-5.2 (end)), CO 348 (MP 0-17 (end)), US 550 (MP 80.3-130 (end)), CO 62 (MP 0-23.1 (end)), CO 65 (MP 0-29.9), CO 145 (MP 59.5-116.9 (end)), CO 141 (MP 6-95.8), CO 90 (MP 0-89 (end)), CO 97 (MP 0-4.6 (end)).

CSP: Captain James Saunders / 970-249-9575 / jamesw.saunders@state.co.us

CDOT: Eric Langford / 970-596-2279 / eric.langford@state.co.us

Southeast TIM Region

Region includes: Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Park, Pueblo, Prowers, and Teller Counties

Florence/Canon City TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: US 50 (MP 225-296) (Chaffee/Fremont County line to Fremont/Pueblo County line)

CSP: Captain Chad Hunt (Troop 2A-Florence) / 719-784-3275 / chad.hunt@state.co.us

CDOT: 


Pikes Peak Region Traffic Safety Collaborative (PPRTSC)

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25 (MP 119-163), US 24 (MP 267-350), CO 94 (MP 0-19) county line to El Paso/Douglas County line)

CSP: Captain Scott Hophan (Troop 2B-Colorado Springs) / 719-635-0385 / scott.hophan@state.co.us

CDOT: Brad Bauer (Region 2-Pueblo) / 719-227-3236 / bradley.bauer@state.co.us


Lamar TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: Prowers, Baca, Kiowa Counties; CO 287, CO 50, CO 96, CO 160

CSP: Captain Tonya Billinger (Troop 2C-Lamar) / 719-336-7403 / tonya.billinger@state.co.us

CDOT: Neil Mauch (Region 2-Pueblo) / 719-691-9123 / neil.mauch@state.co.us


La Junta TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: Otero, Bent, Crowley; US 50, CO 96, CO 109, CO 10, CO 350 (need mile markers)

CSP: Captain Tonya Billinger (Troop 2C-Lamar) / 719-336-7403 / tonya.billinger@state.co.us

CDOT: Mike Asbury (Region 2-Pueblo) / 719-250-8915 / michael.asbury@state.co.us


Hwy-287/Hwy 40 TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: Kiowa, Cheyenne, Lincoln, Kit Carson; US 40; US 287; US 385; CO 96)

CSP: Captain Clint Rushing (Troop 3D-Limon) / 719-775-2964 / clinton.rushing@state.co.us

CSP: Captain Tonya Billinger (Troop 2C-Lamar) / 719-336-7403 / tonya.billinger@state.co.us

CDOT: David Wall (Region 4-Greeley) / 303-229-8856 / david.wall@state.co.us

CDOT: Roy Darnell (Region 2-Pueblo) / 719-688-2493 / roy.darnell@state.co.us


Pueblo TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25 MM 69-116

CSP: Captain Michael Tafoya (Troop 2D-Pueblo) / 719-288-2636 / michaelr.tafoya@state.co.us

CDOT: 


Huerfano and Las Animas TIM Team

Primary Area/Highway of Responsibility: I-25 (New Mexico state line MP 0 to 69)

CSP: Captain Michael Tafoya (Troop 2D-Pueblo) / 719-288-2636 / michaelr.tafoya@state.co.us 

CDOT: