The purpose of the Iowa Children's Choice Award is:

  • To encourage students to read more and better books.
  • To give recognition to authors who write for children.
  • The award is unique because it gives children an opportunity to pick the winner, not adults!

Selection Criteria:

  • Books chosen for the master list are those written by American authors within the last five years.
  • Titles are fiction or nonfiction, with a wide range of interests and reading levels appropriate for children in grades three through six.

Allie First At Last

By: Angela Cervantes

Brave Like My Brother

By: Marc Nobleman

The Contract

By: Derek Jeter

Counting Thyme

By: Melanie Conklin

The Distance to Home

By: Jenn Bishop

Garvey's Choice

By: Nikki Grimes


By: Kirby Larson

Map Trap

By Andrew Clements


By Gordon Korman

A Million Ways Home

By Diana Winget


By: Sharon Creech

Night Gardener

By Jonathan Auxier

Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story

By Nora Baskin

Ranger in Time

By Kate Messner

Sasquatch Escape

By Suzanne Selfors

Save Me a Seat

By Sarah Weeks

Some Kind of Courage

By Dan Geimenhart

Tiger Boy

By Mitali Perkins

Unidentified Suburban Object

By Mike Jung


By Barbara O'Connor