Dr. Zhen Peng 
Assistant Professor

Applied Electromagnetics Group
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering    
University of New Mexico

Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001, USA

+1 (505) 277-1904

Dr. Zhen Peng is currently an Assistant Professor at Applied Electromagnetic Group, University of New Mexico. He was a Senior Research Associate at ElectroScience Lab, The Ohio State University (2010-2013). His research is directed towards a long-term goal of simulation-based engineering of multi-scale and multi-physics systems.  One focus is computational electromagnetics and applications. It is a multi-disciplinary subject which lies at the intersection of applied electromagnetics, computational mathematics and computer-aided engineering. He is also interested in advanced computational techniques for multi-scale and multi-physics engineering problems. His research work has an extensive impact on both the civilian and commercial engineering applications, including modeling, design and optimization of advanced antennas, RF/microwave devices, artificial materials and integrated circuits. 

Dr. Peng is the recipient of 2016 UNM ECE Department's Distinguished Researcher Award, 2015 Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Early Career Award, 2014 IEEE Antenna and Propagation Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award, a recipient of 2014 Young Scientist Award of Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale (URSI) General Assembly and Scientific Symposium, 2013 Young Scientist Award of the International Union of Radio Science, Commission B, 2013 Young Scientist Award of International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory, 2013 Young Scientist Award of Asia-Pacific Radio Science Conference, a candidate for 2012 P. W. King award of IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the recipient of the Best Paper Award for 2011 from ElectroScience LabThe Ohio State Unviersity, and a recipient of Young Science Award from International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory (EMT-S 2010). His Ph.D. thesis work was awarded 2010 The first Prize of Beijing Science and Technology Progress