Season 2009-2010

Reports in The Press

Winter League
Coneysthorpe ‘A’ (Ashley Hodgson, Martin Lowe, Joel Wright) won Division 1 for the first time, beating last season's champions Sessions 'A' (Nathan Horsley, Richard Moss, Mick Wilcockson) into second place by just 4 points. Richard Moss topped the averages with Martin Lowe in second place.

Division 2 was won by YRI 'C' (Luke Blackburn, Jane Cohen, Jeff Cohen, Tim Smith)
, 37 points clear of Bootham 'B' (Gareth Bryning, Ady McClaren, Steve Milner) who were also promoted. Jane Cohen topped the averages with Tim Smith in second place.
Shepherds 'C' (Chris Hutchinson, Paul Kozyra, Gary Neads, Mike Surtees) topped Division 3, 46 points ahead of Bootham 'D' (Matt Ayres, Richard Collyer, John Lloyd, Horst Meyer) who were also promoted. Steve Long topped the averages.

Division 4 champions were YRI 'F' (Jake McCarthy, Lewis McCarthy, Colin Smith, Nathan Taylor)
. Also promoted were Aviva 'B' (Dennis Chatterton, Howard Lewis, Dave Sleet, Andrew Slezak) who finished second by only nine points. Peter Corner topped the averages, with Jake McCarty second.

York Closed Championships
Richard Moss (Sessions) won the Men’s Singles title for the fifth time and the second time in succession. He beat Martin Lowe (Coneysthorpe) in the final. This was the sixth successive final between these two players.

Rebecca George (Coneysthorpe) is the new Ladies' champion. In a repeat of last year's final she defeated Jane Cohen (York RI) 

In the doubles, Ashley Hodgson and Mrtin Lowe (Coneysthorpe) won the Men’s event, Jane Cohen retained the Ladies’ event with Anne Barnard (York RI) and the Mixed Doubles with Nathan Horsley (Sessions).

In the Junior Singles final James Atkins (Shepherds) beat Luke Blackburn (York RI). Jake McCarthy (York RI) defeated his Ethan Lowe (Coneysthorpe) in the Cadets’ singles final.

Handicap Competitions

The Bagshaw Trophy (individual handicap competition) was held during the week before the start of the Winter League. Jake McCarthy (York RI) beat Jamie Cameron (also York RI) in the final. The other finalists were Nathan Taylor and Richard Crowther (both York RI) and Keith Webster (Shepherds).


The finals of the team handicap knock-out competitions were played at the Railway Institute on Friday 7th May 2010. The Shepherds Trophy was won by Bootham B (Gareth Bryning, Aidy McClaren, Steve Milner). They beat Hartrigg Oaks (Ray Holroyd, John Mitchell, Alban Nicholson) 5.5 - 3.5 in the final. Sessions B (Dave Hough, Terry Nicholson, Mike Robinson) beat NEDL/Bootham (Dave Boothroyd, Dave Quinlan, Nigel Reeson) 5.5 - 3.5 in the Machell Trophy. Steve Tindall, of sponsors NEDL, presented the trophies.

The Summer League (2009) was won by York RI A (Jake McCarthy,Lewis McCarthy,Nathan Taylor). They beat Bootham CC B (Mike Cooper,Jim Mills,Lee Poulter) on countback after a 5-5 draw in the final.