Season 2007-2008

Winter League 2007-2008
Division One
Division Two
Division Three
Division Four
Division Five

Promotion / relegation play-offs:
Div 2 v Div 1 for a place in Div 1:  Holgate WMC ‘C’ 4 University ‘A’ 5
Div 3 v Div 2 for a place in Div 2:  Sessions ‘B’ 4 Bootham CC ‘B’ 5
Div 4 v Div 3 for a place in Div 3:  University ‘B’ 5 York RI ‘D’ 3
Div 5 v Div 4 for a place in Div 4:  York RI ‘F’ 2 Shepherds ‘D’ 5

Other competitions
Summer League 2007
York Closed Championships 2008
Shepherd and Machell Trophies 2007-2008
Bagshaw Trophy 2007

Winter League
Bootham CC  'A' (Graham Cook, Paul Eastwood, Jon Wooldridge) won Division 1 for the fourth successive season, beating Coneysthorpe ‘A’ (Martin Lowe, Ian Stansfield, Paul Swift) into second place. Martin Lowe topped the averages with a 100% record. Paul Robertson finished second.

Division 2 was won by Coneysthorpe ‘B’ (Paul Cresswell, Mike Fenby, Mal Haswell, Paul Young), a massive 46 points clear of Holgate WMC ‘C’ (Robert Farmery, Peter Harpham, Dave Jackson, Mike Kenyon) who missed out on promotion, losing a play-off against University ‘A’ from Division 1.  Paul Cresswell, Paul Young and Mike Kenyon finished with averages in the nineties.

Shepherds ‘A’ (David Lamb, Dave Simpson, Stu Stevens, Keith Webster) topped Division 3. Sessions ‘B’ (Keith Elsegood, Dave Hough, Laurent Minette, Terry Nicholson) finished second and lost out on promotion, losing to Bootham ‘B’ from Division 2 in a play-off. David Lamb and Laurent Minette topped the averages.

Division 4 champions were BT B (Marion Broadbent, Bill Carter, Brian Milner, Jim Stevenson), four points ahead of University ‘B’ (Kathryn Arrowsmith, David Butler, Yuan Yuan Chen, Matt Fuller,Richard Harris), who also gained promotion after a play-off win against York RI ‘D’ from Division 3. Jim Stevenson topped the averages, ahead of Yuan Yuan Chen.

Holgate WMC ‘G’ (Mick Belton, Keith Hood, John Orchard, Steve Potter) won Division 5 by 36 points. York RI ‘F (Mike Dinsdale, Geoff Leafe, Chris Megone, John Mothersill) in second place missed out on promotion, losing a play-off to Shepherds ‘D’ from Division 4. Steve Potter and Chris Armstrong topped the averages. 

York Closed Championships
Martin Lowe (Coneysthorpe) retained the Men’s Singles title, again beating Richard Moss (Sessions) in the final.

Jean Carter (York RI) won the Ladies’ Singles, beating Andrea Potter (York RI) in the final.

In the doubles, Richard Moss and Mick Wilcockson (Sessions) won the Men’s event, Jean won the Ladies’ event with Chris Bartle (York RI), and Andrea won the Mixed Doubles with Martin.

In the Junior Singles, Luke Blackburn (York RI) beat Andrea Potter. Jamie Cameron (North Yorkshire Coaching) won the Cadets event, beating Lewis McCarthy (York RI) in the final.

Handicap Competitions
The Bagshaw Trophy (individual handicap competition) was held during the week before the start of the Winter League. Mike Dinsdale (York RI) beat Keith Webster (Shepherds) in the final. The other finalists were Kenny Brown (York RI), Robert Farmery (Holgate WMC), Andrea Potter (York RI) and Steve Potter (Holgate WMC).

The finals of the team handicap knock-out competitions were played at the Railway Institute on Thursday  8th May 2008. In the Shepherd Trophy YRI A (Richard Crowther, John Hughes, Paul Robertson) beat Coneysthorpe A (Mal Haswell, Martin Lowe, Ian Stansfield) 5.5-2.5. In the Machell Trophy Holgate WMC E (Simon Prins, Vic Reed, John Temple) beat BT B (Bill Carter, Brian Milner, Jim Stevenson) 5-0. Steve Tindall, of sponsors NEDL, presented the trophies.

The Summer League (2007) was won by Groves A (Alfie Potter, Andrea Potter, Steve Potter) who beat Holgate A (John Farmery, Robert Farmery, Graham Hatfield) 5-4 in the final.

York Sports Awards
The Association submitted a number of nominations for the York Sports Awards.  Martin Lowe (Sports personality of the year) and Mick Wilcockson (Coach of the year) were short-listed (top 3) in their respective categories.
Sports Awards articles