Racing Corner‎ > ‎

Turkey Shoot Results

posted Oct 7, 2016, 2:01 PM by YPRCC Webmaster   [ updated Nov 24, 2016, 6:56 AM ]

Racers, Godspeed and Claud W. Somers Turnout for the 2016 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta


Although the pouring rain at 7am Saturday wasn’t promising, by the time boats left Carters Creek heading for the racing area on the Rappahannock River the weather was clearing and a nice breeze was in place. 

Of the 88 boats registered for the 2016 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta, 75 showed up coming from various distances after two days of rain. Racing was held on the Rappahannock River between the Norris Bridge and Towles point.   

According to Jerry Latell, Co-Race Chair, Saturday racing started out with overcast skies and 7-9 knots of wind coming from the NNE. On Saturday the larger A fleet boats raced an 8 nautical mile course with the B Fleet boats racing a 5.6 nautical mile course.  Both courses were triangles with windward finishes and the A Fleet going around the triangle twice.  Sunday winds were lighter starting at 6 knots and going very light in the middle of the race, but a nice easterly wind filled in to get the boats across the line before the time limit expired. The racing Sunday was a 5.0 nautical mile pursuit race where boats starting times were based on their PHRF handicaps. 

George Bott, Co-Event Chair said this year’s regatta is the 21st Hospice Regatta and he presented Bruce Sanders a trophy for providing the Rappahannock Yachts marina in Irvington, VA as the land side venue for the last four years.  A Friday night cocktail party, Saturday night dinner and breakfasts Saturday and Sunday are held at the venue to complement the racing activates. 

Since the Regatta features boat designs 25 years or older, one of the highlights of the regatta is the wooden boat division.  This year Captain Eric Speth of the Jamestown Foundation brought the Godspeed to the regatta and raced in Sunday’s Pursuit race, a glorious sight.  Another classic wooden boat attending the regatta, under the command of Captain Gerhard Straub, was the Claud W. Somers, a classic Bay skipjack owned by the Reedville Fishermen’s Museum. Gordon Slatford, General Manager, of The Tides Inn, hosted the Godspeed and the Claud W. Somers at the Tides Inn dock for the weekend. Area school children visited both boats and they were open to the public for set hours. 

The John and Carole Jean McConnico Trophy, awarded to the Yacht Club or Marina based on the sum of their three best finishers, was won by Fishing Bay Yacht Club on a tiebreaker.  Rappahannock River Yacht Club won this trophy in 2014 and 2015. 

The Doug Power Wobbly Compass trophy, awarded to the winning wooden boat, was won by Richard Williams in Ricochet, his 1953, 34 foot Atkins ketch.  Finishing second was Steve King’s Matoaka, a Sea Sailor 30.  Third place was Victorious, Bill Dickenson’s varnished mahogany McGurer 24.  Victorious also won the Most Beautiful Boat Award, voted on by the crew of the Godspeed. Also racing in the Wooden Boat Division were Pat Fincham in Native, his 37 foot, 1970 Herreshoff Neria Ketch, Tom Martin in Wild Rose, his Concordia Yawl and Jack Stortz’s Radian a 40 foot Colvin Bugeye ketch. 

Overall Winner of the Regatta was Dennis Hannick in Goin, his Tripp 26.  John McConnico, chairmen emeritus and a regatta founder, presented Dennis with the Virginia Spirit Trophy silver bowl and a certificate for a room and slip at The Tides Inn for next year's Regatta.  Second Place overall went to last year’s winner Warren Ryan’s J-24 Whistler and third place overall went to Hal Starke Jr with Sam Marshall’s Play it Again team on their S27.9. All overall winners were from Division 4. 

First place in Division 1 was Frank Miller in Windblown with second going to Jim Raper in Rhapsody and third going to Tom and Bianca King in Die Walkure. In Division 2, Wayland Rennie in Trilogy was first; Leslie Newman in Puffin was second with Pedro Pimentel in Shades of Grey third.  Peter Knight in Salute was first in Division 3 with Russ Seltzer I Joie de Vie second and Mac Ward’s Carmella third. Randy Alderk’s Eroica won Division 5 with Ian Ormesher in Galeneia second and Tom and Susan Richardson’s Serene third.  Quest, sailed by Richard Hazlegrove won Division 6 with Jim Engle’s Grey Fox second and Eddy Whichard on Life of Riley third. The winner of Division 8 was Mark Powell in Lodestone with Frank Murphy in Last Boat III second and Bill McClure’s Thistledown third. In the highly competitive 15 boat Typhoon Division, Mosby West  in Goldfinch was first with Team Mihills in Anthem second, Steve Harris in Sierra Rose third and Chuck Carmichael in Pygmalion fourth. 

The Race Committee, responsible for setting the courses, running the races, water taxis, historic ship coordination registration and scoring was led by Tom Chapman and Jerry Latell and included Kimberly Vail (registration), Burke Johnson (historic ships) George Kuper, Lloyd Redlin, Pete Clay, Tom Armstrong, Bob Westbrook, Jesus LaPera, Debbie Cycotte, Eileen Edmonds, Ana Christina LaPera. Mike and Cassie Thompson’s Contessa served as the Signal Boat. Ed Johnson and Bruce Julian led the group of volunteers providing water taxi service to the many racing boats anchored in Carters Creek. The land side activities were supervised by George Bott and included Frank Martin, Tom Decker, Joel Dugan and many volunteers from Yankee Point Racing and Cruising Club and Hospice Support Services of the Northern Neck. Frances Bernard and volunteers from Riverside Hospice Services provided all the food services.  On the water safety and security was provided by the Flotilla 33 Coast Guard Auxiliary. 

According to George Bott, The Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta is jointly sponsored by Rappahannock River Yacht Club and Yankee Point Racing and Cruising Club and hosted by Rappahannock Yachts at their marina in Irvington.  All proceeds go to Hospice Support Services of the Northern Neck in Warsaw, VA and Riverside Hospice Agencies serving Tappahannock and Gloucester.