Awards‎ > ‎

Member of the Year

2010 WV CEC Member of the Year Award Winner

Gia Deasy, Special Education Director of Marion County was suprised when she was announced as the winner of the 2010 Member of the Year Award Winner at the annual awards luncheon. Gia has been a supporter of the West Virginia Council of Exceptional Students for many years. She is an advocate for students with disabilities in her county. The following is excerpted from the application submitted by one of her staff members:
"Gia is bright and so perceptive in the process of understanding and implementing the needs of students with disabilities... Gia is always capable of thinking creatively and out of the box. Gia has such a special gift of simplifying complex procedures, etc. for any audience to understand--- Gia is a natural teacher... These talents build the foundation for her to accomplish her true passion which is to support at every level individual with exceptionalities."
WV CEC is currently seeking nominations for the 2014 Member of the Year.
If you know of a WV CEC member in good standing, who is deserving of this award because of his or her continued support of the WV Council for Exceptional Children, please submit the form below.
Valerie Wilson,
Jun 10, 2014, 6:41 AM