WTA Introduction‎ > ‎

Officers/Building Representatives

2016-2017 School Year Officers and Representatives

 Jay Chandler, WHS

 Robin Fitch, WHS
 Secretary Maureen Devlin, HH

 Treasurer Ken Rideout, WHS

Membership Coordinator
 Michelle Lataille, HH

 Grievance Chair Robin Fitch, WHS

 Social Chair Ken Rideout, WHS

 Building Representative - High School Trish Halpin, WHS
 Building Representative - High School Kay Bassen, WHS

 Building Representative - High School   

 Building Representative - Middle School   Frank Lenz, WMS

 Building Representative - Middle School Rebecca Poulo, WMS

 Building Representative - Middle School Matt McCormack, WMS

 Building Representative - Claypit Hill Mark Owen, CH

 Building Representative - Loker Becky Lepow, LO

 Building Representative - Loker Mike O'Connor, LO

 Building Representative - Loker  Rebecca Lepow

 Building Representative - Happy Hollow Michelle Lataille, HH

 Building Representative - Happy Hollow Maureen Devlin, HH

 Past President Matt Daniels, WHS

 Negotiations Chair Kori Rogers, HH

Officers:  The four officers are elected for one-year terms and may serve consecutive terms.  The responsibilities of the officers are detailed in the bylaws.  Elections are held near the end of each academic year, typically in May or June.  If you are interested in being a WTA officer or representative, please contact any one of the Executive Board members listed below.

Building Representatives:  The WTA Bylaws also provide for representation for each school.  Representatives serve two-year terms.

Executive Board:  Taken together, the officers, the building representatives, the immediate past president and the chairperson of the Social Committee comprise the Executive Board.

Executive Board Email List: It’s best to send WTA Board Information through non Wayland emails most of the time. If you want to contact a Union member, please send them an email to their WPS email saying that you'd like to talk. Include your private email in the note, but you may not want to relay the details of the issue on your WPS email.

  • President: An amount equal to 25.925%, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, of the Bachelors minimum salary as specified in the salary schedule in effect at the start of the of the school year for which the term in office is being served.
  • Vice-President: 7% of the President’s stipend.
  • Secretary: 3% of the President’s stipend.
  • Treasurer: 5% of the President’s stipend.
  • Negotiation’s Team: 7% of the President’s stipend.
  • Grievance Chair: 15% of the President’s stipend.
  • Negotiations Chair
  • Negotiations Yr: 40% of the President's stipend.
  • Non-Negotiations Yr: 10% of the President’s stipend.
  • Building Reps. & Social Chr: 2% (honorarium) of the President’s stipend
Officer/Representative Reports
Ken Rideout is our Treasurer. Follow this link for information about dues and other dollars.

Maureen Devlin
contact Maureenprattdevlin@gmail.com with updates, corrections, and more

Standing Committees
In addition to elected positions, there are appointed positions for Standing Committees.

Social Committee:  Chairperson plus three members

School Committee Observers:  Chairperson plus four members

Salary and Working Conditions Committee (SWCC):  One person from each elementary school, three persons from the Middle School and three persons from the High School are the typical composition of the SWCC.  The Committee is formed at the start of a negotiations year and gathers input from Association members.

Grievance Committee:  The Grievance Chair is appointed by the President.  The Grievance Committee is the Executive Board.

Scholarship Committee:  Three high school, two middle school and one person from each elementary school; serve two year terms.

Sick Bank Committee:  Two teachers from different schools, nominated by the President, approved by the Executive Board and working with two representatives of the School Committee.

Budget Committee:  Comprised of an appointed Chairperson, the Treasurer and two other members.