Home‎ > ‎Updates‎ > ‎

NXT Brings Back the North American Championship

posted Apr 7, 2018, 5:06 PM by Wrestling Scout
When NXT announced they were introducing a North American title, it seemed like a strange regional belt.  However, it was a championship with a rich history dating back over sixty years.  Several territories used the title as their top singles title.

In 1956, Jim Wright rolled into the Amarillo territory with the North American championship.  He soon dropped the belt and headed down the road.  The title was owned by Dory Funk (Sr.) for the next decade.

In 1968, Archie Gouldie was established as the first North American champion.  In 1972, the NWA Canadian heavyweight title was abandoned and so Stampede began recognizing their North American title as the territory's top singles championship.  They kept that title active until closing up in 1989.

In 1968, the top singles title in Hawaii was renamed to the North American Championship.  It kept that name for a decade, before being renamed again.  Since Hawaii was a popular destination, the title has been held by some of the best.

In 1969, Chuck Karbo was recognized as the North American champion in the Tri-State territory promoted by Leroy McGuirk.  The title was the region's top heavyweight singles title through 1979.  When Bill Watts split and that North American title went to Mid-South who kept the title the top singles title until the UWF was formed in 1986.

In 1979, Ted Dibiase came to the WWF and was called the "North American Champion," he soon lost a unification match to so-called "South American Champion" Pat Patterson to establish the Intercontinental Championship, which has been the company's premier secondary title ever since.

‡ - signifies they held different versions of the North American Championship

(there are 24 men who had 2-time runs)